Speed Racer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Speed Racer Reviews

Page 2 of 11
June 13, 2008
An overlong and downright boring story, with its plodding family scenes interspersed between the action sequences, makes Speed Racer a bit of a flooded engine.
June 13, 2008
Resembling little more than a two-hour video game, the high-energy movie is positive enough about the strength of family to forgive the challenges of the format and simply go along for the (very loud and noisy) ride offered by the Wachowski brothers.
June 13, 2008
At the finish line Speed Racer comes across as an indulgent fantasy project for the Wachowskis.
June 12, 2008
Given that Speed Racer itself is basically an elaborate commercial, the anti-corporate message inevitably rings hollow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 12, 2008
No doubt the Wachowski brothers were aiming for a surreal atmosphere, and they hit their mark, but it too often felt less an edge-of-your-seat movie experience and more a pretty cool new computer game.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 12, 2008
Speed Racer is a masterpiece of its kind, and a definitive benchmark for film not only as a special effects extravaganza but as the moment when the Wachowskis went from wunderkind directors to true auteurs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 11, 2008
"It sure does have some pretty colors. True, the film is a mess and a failure in nearly every other department, but you can't deny that those colors look great."
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
June 5, 2008
Creating visual styles that break boundaries is what the Wachowskis do best; Speed Racer is a thrilling triumph of multi-layered visual storytelling, combining CGI with live action & involving mind boggling race sequences using virtual real-life locations
June 4, 2008
I'm not sure exactly who the audience for this is and I'd be lying if I said I wasn't disappointed, but it's a fun and wild ride that is unlike anything in theaters right now.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 2, 2008
It's hard to fill two hours when your best ideas only last a few seconds apiece, and the shortfall of ingenuity causes the worst possible result: boredom.
May 29, 2008
I never much cared for the cartoon.
May 29, 2008
Perhaps it's not as visually overwhelming or headache inducing on the small screen... but I have to admit I enjoyed myself.
May 29, 2008
at once hyper-detailed and abstract, simultaneously drawing you in and pushing you out, with the ultimate effect of wearing you out
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 24, 2008
Its eye candy may not satisfy anyone other than the most dedicated of fans. This film could have used a heavy dose of Spielberg pacing and Pixar personality.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 23, 2008
A very pretty, colorful roller coaster ride, a wonderful construction of visual imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 23, 2008
If a simple egg can be compared to your brain, then an egg watching the Wachowski brothers' flashy Speed Racer is your brain on drugs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 22, 2008
"Speed Racer" is a stylish, electrifying, intense and visually breathtaking catastrophe of a movie...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 22, 2008
Belying its own title, it's a mind-boggling bog of slow-witted repetition. After 5 minutes of zippy eye candy, what'll we do for the next 2 hours? You might want to bring along something to read.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
May 20, 2008
(...) Pretende conformar a todos: los fanáticos de la serie de antes y los niños y adolescentes de ahora. Lo logra a medias. En todo caso, un entretenimiento liviano y vistoso al que no habría que exigirle más que eso.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 18, 2008
...way too much of a not-good-enough thing...
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Page 2 of 11