Spider-Man 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spider-Man 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 14
June 30, 2004
Tough to watch without getting bored in the middle - it's a two-hour-plus film that easily could have shed half an hour - and not imagining how it could have been better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 30, 2004
Plot developments are labored upon so heavily that I felt compelled to stand up in my seat during the screening and shout out, 'Okay! We get it!'
June 29, 2004
Feels like a remake of the first one, with the same character struggles and plot points we've come to expect
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 30, 2004
The lightning that struck for so many of this summer's sequels fails to ignite Spider-Man 2. The franchise remains a tolerable proposition tolerably well-executed.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 30, 2004
There are a lot of dull spots where there's only banal chatter.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 29, 2004
The movie's first half is talky bordering on tiresome -- endlessly rehashing the same mix of frustrated puppy love, survivor guilt, and identity crisis.
June 30, 2004
Comic-book dialog, where everything has life or death urgency, yet you can still take time to wax philosophical... same movie - with less swing-time, and almost no fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 29, 2004
Good but far from great.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 7, 2004
I can't figure out why anybody would want to waste 127 minutes sitting through this thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
July 9, 2004
The superhero as schlemiel returns...a tangled web of drippy, comic-book psychodrama.
July 7, 2004
...Spider-Man 2, despite a terrific villain, is boring.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2004
A noisy, dopey sci-fi thriller.
December 6, 2004
Gets the characters where they need to go, but it doesn't develop their struggles to a satisfactory level.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2004
Surges and sags in massive sections.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2004
For a big-budget action movie Spider-Man 2 is modest and not assaultive -- it has a boring decency.
July 3, 2004
I feel it's my responsibility to suggest that the best choice is to hold out for the DVD rather than shell out 10 bucks for this cornball, half-hearted, fitfully exciting rehash.
July 15, 2011
There's nothing at all wrong with the movie. I just wish there were more that's right.
August 24, 2017
Spiderman 2 is has got a little bit of everything: angst, explosions, tight suits, bad guys, good guys, more explosions.
July 5, 2004
The digital special effects -- especially those glorious, block-long Tarzan-style web swings up and down the city boulevards are exhilarating and wonderful to watch, even better than they were the first time around.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 15, 2017
Spider-Man 2 is not a great movie. It is, however, a great superhero movie, one of the best ever made. If only its influence could more clearly be felt in the "Avengers" CGI-fests of today.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 14