Spider-Man 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spider-Man 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 14
June 30, 2004
Tough to watch without getting bored in the middle - it's a two-hour-plus film that easily could have shed half an hour - and not imagining how it could have been better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 30, 2004
Plot developments are labored upon so heavily that I felt compelled to stand up in my seat during the screening and shout out, 'Okay! We get it!'
June 29, 2004
Feels like a remake of the first one, with the same character struggles and plot points we've come to expect
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 30, 2004
The lightning that struck for so many of this summer's sequels fails to ignite Spider-Man 2. The franchise remains a tolerable proposition tolerably well-executed.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 30, 2004
There are a lot of dull spots where there's only banal chatter.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 29, 2004
The movie's first half is talky bordering on tiresome -- endlessly rehashing the same mix of frustrated puppy love, survivor guilt, and identity crisis.
June 30, 2004
Comic-book dialog, where everything has life or death urgency, yet you can still take time to wax philosophical... same movie - with less swing-time, and almost no fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 29, 2004
Good but far from great.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 7, 2004
I can't figure out why anybody would want to waste 127 minutes sitting through this thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
July 9, 2004
The superhero as schlemiel returns...a tangled web of drippy, comic-book psychodrama.
July 7, 2004
...Spider-Man 2, despite a terrific villain, is boring.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2004
A noisy, dopey sci-fi thriller.
December 6, 2004
Gets the characters where they need to go, but it doesn't develop their struggles to a satisfactory level.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2004
Surges and sags in massive sections.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2004
For a big-budget action movie Spider-Man 2 is modest and not assaultive -- it has a boring decency.
July 3, 2004
I feel it's my responsibility to suggest that the best choice is to hold out for the DVD rather than shell out 10 bucks for this cornball, half-hearted, fitfully exciting rehash.
July 15, 2011
There's nothing at all wrong with the movie. I just wish there were more that's right.
August 24, 2014
Through it all, Maguire remains the ideal actor to play the conflicted superhero. Earnest and vulnerable, you see why he delights in the transformation to superhero. And why he also feels its burden.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 24, 2014
Emotionally deeper, better looking and twice as exciting as the blockbuster that kicked off the franchise two years ago, Spider-Man 2 just became the new gold standard for the current crop of super-hero movies.
June 29, 2015
The trick with Spider-Man is to swing both ways -- the superheroics and the super lack of self-esteem -- without getting mired in the dreary introspective moping that did for Ang Lee's awful Hulk. Spider-Man 2 balances it all but perfectly,
Page 1 of 14