Split Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 18, 2019
M. Night Shyamalan's 2016 film Split takes abuse-as-character to a logical and absurd extreme.
August 16, 2019
One of the highlights in the promotion of the movie was the promise to see James McAvoy playing some of Kevin's 23 personalities, which never happens. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 24, 2019
Split squanders an excellent cast on a terrible script that is as offensive as it is stupid and tasteless.
January 12, 2019
Shyamalan oddly builds toward a climax that ultimately finds a positive side benefit to incest, pedophilia, and physical abuse.
November 1, 2018
I guess it's only fitting that Shyamalan's cameo is credited as "Jai, Hooters lover."
May 8, 2018
Still, I wish I could've seen a film of this subject matter taken a bit more seriously. It's not the '80s anymore. Movies should be smarter than this.
December 19, 2017
McAvoy likely had a blast playing these disparate characters and I'd watch his campy one-man show anytime, but his hard work can't save this mess.
November 16, 2017
This is Shyamalan laughing at his own joke: the idea that people who don't have to will watch this.
August 3, 2017
"Split" takes a step in this direction by positing that "mental sickness" might not always be an actual illness - but then takes two steps back by exploiting moviegoers' fears that people with unusual mental conditions can be unpredictably violent.
June 16, 2017
Just when you thought it was safe to go back to a M. Night. Shyamalan movie - last year's "The Visit" had hinted at a return to his "The Sixth Sense" glory days - along comes this mess.
May 18, 2017
The latest from The Sixth Sense director M. Night Shyamalan, Split has as many fractured identities as its main character
April 22, 2017
Shyamalan oddly builds toward a climax that ultimately finds a positive side benefit to incest, pedophilia, and physical abuse.
March 24, 2017
Shyamalan obviously understands the concept of suspense, but apparently doesn't know how to apply it anymore. [Full review in Portuguese.]
March 23, 2017
Shyamalan doesn't do enough with the tired premise to make it truly memorable, not even bothering to give all three of the captive girls distinctive personalities of their own.
March 22, 2017
It's shot well. Its ominous setting, nestled deep in the pit of a dark, multi-layered, multi-doored complex puts you on edge. But the narrative -- LORD, this narrative -- becomes a steaming hot mess.
February 20, 2017
A nod that demonstrates the sincere despair of the filmmaker: in order to provoke emotion, he is able to remind us that he once made good films. And yes, but it was a long time ago. [Full review in Spanish]
February 8, 2017
In the end we have a staggering actoral work in a dramatic thriller which curiosity is plunged by crushing too much in what has already been seen and understood. [Full review in Spanish]
February 6, 2017
I've never wanted to walk out of any movie more so in my life.
January 30, 2017
Violently superficial.
January 30, 2017
It might be outlandish but it's just as limp, and that's the kicker.
Page 1 of 4