The Spongebob Squarepants Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spongebob Squarepants Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 24, 2017
As much as I resisted the Bob, I have to admit this is actually a pretty funny film.
December 29, 2010
Very similar to the edgy animated TV show.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 29, 2009
It's never afraid to break out of movie conventions and revert back to its series randomness and sheer Monty Python-esque humor that made it a hit with kids in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 20, 2008
Brilliantly funny, inventive and delirious.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 1, 2006
A film for kids, students, stoners, anyone who enjoys a break from reality.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 17, 2006
hile there is something a little familiar about the use of a journey narrative, and the hint of an uplifting message at the end of the film, the breezy insouciance, gleeful absurdity and wacky innocence of the series remains.
September 30, 2005
The story is so good-naturedly silly that while not exactly challenging, it should keep even the grown-ups at least smiling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 13, 2005
SpongeBob's resilient, Pollyana-like nature is hard to resist.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 12, 2005
The film even manages to pull off a hilarious comic song ("Now that we're men!"), as well as providing new additions to playground vocabulary such as "Knuckleheaded McSpazatron".
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 12, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 8, 2005
Even when it misses the mark, SpongeBob drips with originality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 24, 2005
SpongeBob is still SpongeBob, and his unflagging innocence and lack of irony make for a much-needed and much-appreciated hero.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 3, 2005
Normally, when I'm watching it in my Scooby-Doo underwear eating my Cap'n Crunch cereal I don't even think of it being a kid's show but here I noticed it.
Full Review
December 22, 2004
The writing is sharp and the characters cool, while at the film's heart lies an innocence that resonates with us all.
December 17, 2004
Not too many films this year are truly "sponge-worthy!"
Full Review| Original Score: B
December 16, 2004
Almost blissfully silly
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 8, 2004
Bright, funny and charming without being cloying.
December 5, 2004
Simply too much fun for anyone not to enjoy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 27, 2004
SpongeBob isn't just a hit, he's an institution. From a gang of pirates singing the theme song to countless variation of the Goofy Goober anthem, the audience of young and old sang along as if they were doing late-night karaoke.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.75/4
November 24, 2004
Both kids and adults will want to soak this up.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 7