Spring Breakers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spring Breakers Reviews

Page 2 of 191
September 4, 2016
Better than the Bling Ring but not by much.
½ September 3, 2016
For all of its commercial exterior, this really isn't very different from Korine's previous work. It's not even all that different stylistically, although the Florida setting and Benoît Debie's cinematography gives it a neon sheen his work has never had before. It's pretty hilarious that a fairly audience punishing art film has done more business than all of his previous films put together. I really loved it. Franco seems to be fully committed here in a way he usually isn't, and he manages to steal quite a few scenes from his young, scantily clad co-stars. That's quite a mean feat.
September 1, 2016
Qwerky but very nicely put together well rounded film with deeper meaning that meets the eye
½ August 29, 2016
It's Scarface meets Miami Vice meets True Romance meets U Turn with a fantastic soundtrack. Not the best film in the world, but certainly a piece of art.
½ August 16, 2016
horrible stupid film
August 11, 2016
A really great film about crime and I like the dark tone of the film. It was impressive for a low budget film.
½ July 31, 2016
How anyone can fin this film good is beyond me. Unlikable characters, over or underacting, a lackluster story, editing all over the place, and most of all ridiculous writing and you have a recipe for one of the most despicable films you will ever see in your life. I HATED this film so much. I can say without a doubt that this film is one of the wort films I have ever seen in my entire life.
½ July 28, 2016
biggest pile of shit imaginable.
Devastated I actually purchased this dvd based on the amazing looking trailer of half naked tarts but not even they or the brilliant James Franco could save this dross. so angry I had to write a review. don't bother
July 19, 2016
With Spring Breakers Harmony Korine pulls off something truly incredible, he manages to create an action-packed film filled with violence, popular music, T&A and sexy girls in bikinis really boring. Spring breakers detracts its entertainment with redundant, empty-headed dialogue, hammy Franco performance, thrilless action sequences, and headache-inducing editing. Several scenes cut up and disassemble shots in a montage like fashion (scenes of characters having conversations cut to random moments while the conversation continues). There's nothing compelling here.
½ July 13, 2016
A tawdry, booze-and-sex drenched mashup of "Kids," "Girls Gone Wild," and "Natural Born Killers." It's just bonkers enough to keep things fun and interesting. James Franco is a hoot as a corn-rowed thug named Alien, a character not too far removed from Nick Kroll's C-Czar on "Kroll Show."
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
July 10, 2016
At a loss to figure out the point of this, is it supposed to be a spring break satire? Or were they really trying for drama in showing the corruption of innocence? And what the hell is with James Franco's performance all over the map like a U2 tour schedule? In the end it doesn't matter what they were trying because nothing works, at all. Messier than an Exxon oil spill.
July 7, 2016
Spring Breakers is definitely an okay movie. It is well told and (surprisingly) well casted too. James Franco is definitely the stand out character, but sadly you never get very invested in anyone else. It is not a good movie, but emotionally it never gets you where it wants too.
½ June 29, 2016
Blending vibrant neon decadence with harsh social commentary, Spring Breakers is Harmony Korine's first solid film. The violently psychedelic surrealism of the movie is hypnotic and fantastic to watch, including an excellent performance by James Franco. Gorgeously shot and narcotically edited, Spring Breakers is one of the most interesting movies to come out this year. The deliriously multicolored decadence in Spring Breakers is both hypnotic and psychotic; a paradoxical mishmash of manic thoughtlessness and desperate intention. Like bittersweet chocolate, it melts in the mouth most deliciously, and despite its short-lived nature it offers more than enough twisted beauty to warrant admiration. Franco's "Alien" is a marvelously realized character, infused with gold plated guns and ferocious charm. The lite-brite world of Spring Breakers couldn't survive without him; he's the closest thing to a main character the movie supplies. Gucci Mane, astonishingly, delivers a performance that isn't half bad. Watching his puffy eyes survey a smoke-caked stripclub lit by cigarettes and fluorescent red lights simply adds more cultural cheesecake to the film, another glimpse of the magniloquent lifestyle. An intimate and riveting look at the girls' backgrounds and intents, mixing intense aquas of pool water with pink bikinis and dreamy voiceovers, essentially completes the success. Watching this film is like being taken hostage and force-fed drugs - and for once, Harmony Korine made me love the feeling.
June 21, 2016
Spring Breakers feels like it tries to do something far greater than it really end up accomplishing. The slow motion scenes are all great, and the little character development it had I really liked the direction it was going. But in the end, Spring Breakers is nothing more than a soft core porn with a great performance by James Franco thrown in. Seriously, this guy carried the movie for me, without him I would've been bored to tears. There is some great shots that are breathtaking at times, but it is only a distraction from the absolute nothing that happens through most of the film. The ending was far better than expected though, so there's that
½ June 20, 2016
Do not waste your time. Horrible movie.
June 17, 2016
i feel like im watching the life and times of rift raft surrounded by hot women... and thats a good thing!
½ June 15, 2016
I was trying to decide just how much I dislike this film and came to the conclusion of "very much so". Party scenes and nudity strung together followed by absurd violence. James Franco was the only positive feature I can give this film, he had a few amusing scenes for me before things get 'serious" in the third act. I suppose this is a warning about "kids these days"? For me when I wasn't bored I was shaking my head at how dumb this was. "Alien" needed to be in a better film, that's for sure.
½ June 10, 2016
What might seem like your average teenage party comedy movie is in fact a brilliantly shot, unique film that takes dark turns. The performances of James Franco and Selena Gomez stand out and work perfectly for this film. It's not an easy movie to watch, but I do recommend seeing it.
½ May 30, 2016
Crappy movie about crappy people, that is poorly acted. Other than that, the boobs were nice.
May 22, 2016
March 8th 2015
May 21st 2016
Page 2 of 191