Spring Fever (Chun feng chen zui de ye wan) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spring Fever (Chun feng chen zui de ye wan) Reviews

August 6, 2010
Portrays contemporary China as a seething hotbed of erotic curiosity and discontent.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 4, 2010
So what do you do once the Chinese authorities forbid you from making movies for five years?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 3, 2010
For long stretches of this tantalizing, romantic, aggravating film -- until just before its extremely satisfying ending, in fact -- I wished Lou had caught a little spring fever himself, cranked up the volume, and turned on the lights.
July 15, 2010
Its examination of identity and loneliness begins to feel like a soap opera season boiled down into one very long episode with too much happening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 16, 2009
I think there's meant to be a tender love story buried somewhere in all this remote melodrama, but none of the five major characters makes the slightest impression.
May 15, 2009
This overlong and very Euro-flavored "Spring" won't make many B.O. wickets bloom.
May 15, 2009
This film is a considerable improvement as it generates intensity through the extreme intimacy among its minimalist cast.
May 15, 2009
We're supposed to feel some kind of infinite sadness about our existential loneliness and vulnerability; but what I felt, despite a scattering of strong scenes, was a growing impatience both with the characters and the trite message.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6