Spring Fever (Chun feng chen zui de ye wan) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spring Fever (Chun feng chen zui de ye wan) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 17, 2013
I find this to be a terribly depressing film but it the idea can be universal for any homosexual in any part of the world.
August 23, 2012
Lou Ye, who has been forbidden to make a film by the Chinese Government for seven years because of his last film Summer palace, "illegally" makes this film to be what he should be and is - a filmmaker. This film is valuable in that way, although it is not as powerful as his other works (probably largely because of inconvenience of guerrilla shooting). This film would, and should, be compared with Kar-Wai Wang's "Happy Together," and I think "Spring Fever" is weaker than "Happy -" due to lack of center-focused powerful and attractive character(s) - in other words, too many main characters and unnecessary episodes. In fact, Lou Ye obviously has Kar-Wai Wang in his mind a lot in making this film (not only similarities to "Happy Together" but also "Wings of Desire" - the dancing man scene - and "Ashes of Times" - quotes of both actual sentences and style from traditional Chinese literature -), but overall, this film is too powerless and repetitious (in terms of style) to be a breakthrough for Ye, while "Chungking Express" was for Kar-Wai Wang (who was in danger of being hiatus as a filmmaker due to the financial failure of "Ashes of Times").
January 2, 2012
bon sujet mais film trop long trop fade
November 6, 2011
Homosexuality in contemporary China ? Really moving, but a bit long. But really moving. Love, lust, and desires are part of the human condition, wherever we come from !
December 8, 2010
Although I was disappointed by his previous movie, Summer Palace, this is really a great one. I am touched.
December 3, 2010
Love, hurts, in diverse forms.
November 19, 2010
complex human relationships.
haters of arthouse flick, avoid this at all costs.
( p.s. anyone knows the title of that song during the poignant karaoke scene? )

ä¸-çä¹±äºã,
æ'ï 1/4
ä¹
å¨
乱中éä¹±ã,
October 24, 2010
It has a promising beginning. The story might go toward an interesting direction, but it never came unfortunately. In this modern gay fable, the developments of the characters felt like being cut off near the end. The second half made me start to feel impatient and can't hardly feel for the characters. My most disappointed Lou Ye's work.
Super Reviewer
½ October 19, 2010
A haunting and beautifully observed portrait of forbidden romance about a woman who suspects her husband of adultery and hires a private investigator to follow him. When her husband is discovered in a relationship with another man, the private investigator finds himself drawn to the man he is having an affair with, and soon begins his own affair as a strange love triangle develops with him and his own girlfriend. Thoughtful and tender, "Spring Fever" deftly avoids melodrama in favor of an insightful and honest exploration of human relationships.
October 1, 2010
This film by Chinese director Lou Ye will keep me up for a while tonight, for sure, with an intricate plot around a still-taboo subject--which has thus far prevented the film from being seen in China (though that's exactly where I saw it this evening). The French (and seemingly even Japanese) film noir influences seemed apparent throughout.
½ September 6, 2010
Perhaps there is French participation in production, very Frenchie in style, narrative (story-telling) & characters development (especially the "versatile" personality of the core character Jiang Cheng played by Qin Hao). Occasionally confusing; moody & fairly good overall.
May 4, 2010
Difficile de ressortir de la séance sans avoir été affecté par cette histoire, ou plutôt, cette tranche de vie(s).

Où comment des hommes et des femmes cherchent et se cherchent toujours, jouent sur des registres différents, espèrent différemment et se construisent avec plus ou moins d'inconscience.

Une belle réalisation aux rapports humains à la fois empreints de douceur, de bestialité et d'une domination presque malsaine.
½ May 2, 2010
Un film qui ne tient sa promesse qu'à moitié et dont le scénario reste inégal. On peut le rapprocher de films tels que Happy Together, I don't want to sleep alone ou Tropical malady qui lui sont cependant définitivement supérieurs. Le trait commun entre ces films est leur valeur sociologique mettant en évidence la mnière dont le contact conditionne la psychologie des affects. Dommage, il lui manque l'ivresse promise dans son titre mais on note l'omniprésence du téléphone portable désormais intégré à la société chinoise et à son cinéma, preuve de l'évolution du pays. Nuit d'ivresse printanière évoque surtout une sucession de crises filmées de manière quasi-documentaire, dans l'urgence pour se protéger de la sanction politique. Images numériques qui se mêlent à celles des téléphones mobiles en prises avec le réel, désenchantées.
April 22, 2010
Je dois etre le tout premier pelerin de Fb a noter ce film d'auteur... MDR
Bon film, chinois en plus, une belle tranche de vie un peu triste mais qui a le merite d'etre bien interpreté.
½ April 19, 2010
un peu long quoi....
Page 1 of 1