The Spy Who Loved Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spy Who Loved Me Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 5, 2017
The Spy Who Loved Me had me at hello with the famous pre-title sequence culminating in the ski jump off the mountain.
October 26, 2015
With a great villain, the series' definitive henchman, stunning Bond Babes, grand action and an all-time classic theme, this is a Bond film fully worthy of adoration.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 23, 2015
[The Spy Who Loved Me] gets off to a promising start but proves seriously deficient in staying power.
October 23, 2015
This exceptional spy escapade is far-fetched mayhem of the highest order, with a welcome accent on character realism rather than just spectacular sets.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 23, 2015
It's good clean British fun.
October 26, 2012
THE SPY WHO LOVED ME is not as good as I remembered it. All of its chases and action were much better in my memories. In reality, they're a bit lackluster.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 10, 2012
In a tremendous film that shows Moore's Bond still has the old razzle-dazzle, "Nobody Does It Better" isn't just a theme song. It's a forceful and fun statement of purpose, and "Spy" offers the franchise the definitive jolt it so sorely needed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 5, 2012
The best combination of japery and seriousness, without descending into the clowning that would be a part of all but one of Moore's subsequent adventures [as Bond].
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 15, 2010
1977's 007 still gettin' lucky in underwater lair.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 10, 2009
Overwhelmed with its cartoonish absurdity.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 13, 2008
Never did top that first stunt.
May 5, 2008
It may not be Fleming but it is terrific fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 5, 2008
The ostensible hero is just a fleshy blur.
May 5, 2008
Classic Bond -- Moore at his eyebrow-arching best, brilliant stunts and a solid story to boot. Just perfect for lazy Sunday afternoons.
May 5, 2008
As the Bond series moved deeper into the 1970s, the emphasis moved away from the inventive scripts that made the best Sean Connery films fine examples of the spy genre and toward the kind of feats of daring and visual spectacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 5, 2008
As always, story and plastic character are in the service of comic strip parody.
July 10, 2007
... the first truly original Bond movie, this one is actually more tightly constructed than several of the adaptations and remains consistently surprising and witty.
September 22, 2006
007 lives in the best of the Moore Bonds ...
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 3, 2006
This is near-camp and its success sent a strong message to its producers about what audiences wanted to see: Bigger, bolder, louder, sexier.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
February 9, 2006
The film has its moments -- Kiel's indestructible heavy racks up a good score -- but the rest is desperately weak.
Page 1 of 3