St. Louis Blues - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

St. Louis Blues Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 24, 2015
all-black, all-star cast.. i was absolutely floored with the performances. ESPECIALLY when i saw the LEGENDARY Ella Fitzgerald! mother is stil in disbelief that i had never even heard of this movie until tonight.
February 6, 2015
fun saw it on Amazon Prime
½ November 25, 2012
St Louis Blues is one of those movies that deserve to be called a classic because of the great talent. The movie stars the great Nat King Cole, but he is the weakest of the actors. Check this out Mahalia Jackson, Ella Fitzgerald, Pearl Bailey, and Eartha Kitt all sing in this movie. In addition, a young Billy Preston plays the young W.C. Handy and Ruby Dee gives a display of her acting talent in a small part. It is an old time biography that doesn't give the cast a chance to show their acting abilities but the signing is first class.
July 10, 2012
Nevermind that this is a great biopic of a legendary bluesman W.C.Handy - we have Nat King Cole, Eartha Kitt, Pearl Bailey, Cab Calloway, Mahalia Jackson, Ella Fitzgerald, and Rudy Dee. Wow what an ensemble of super stars of music...! Absolutely awesome to see all these talent in one film.
½ April 5, 2012
Nat King Cole surprisingly gives out a good role playing WC Handy, who is a preacher's kid who loves music, bringing a conflict between the two and Handy leaving home to do so. Interesting flick on the early life of W.C.Handy.
March 23, 2012
Wonderful music. Not much else, but wonderful music.
August 4, 2011
St. Louis Blues is an incredible film. It is about the singer, W.C. Handy, who lives with his preacher father and his aunt in Memphis. The music is also great. Nat 'King' Cole and Eartha Kitt give excellent performances. The script is well written. Allen Reisner did an awesome directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the drama and music. St. Louis Blues is a must see.
July 14, 2011
Learned some Blues history tonight :-)
July 3, 2011
Wonderful music. Not much else, but wonderful music.
December 17, 2009
Great acting and EXTRMELY GREAT SINGING. black and white fim
January 31, 2008
Saw this just once on TCM and I WISH I could get it on DVD. Good story.
December 4, 2007
This movie go so hard. But, you can't watch it and be world stupid
November 17, 2007
I wanna see Nat and Cab in action.
½ October 10, 2007
Nat King Cole surprisingly gives out a good role playing WC Handy, who is a preacher's kid who loves music, bringing a conflict between the two and Handy leaving home to do so. Interesting flick on the early life of W.C.Handy.
Page 1 of 1