The Star Maker (L'uomo delle stelle) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Star Maker (L'uomo delle stelle) Reviews

Page 2 of 3
September 20, 2009
Der Mann, der die Sterne macht - Neuer Sizilianischer Film
September 20, 2009
...un messaggero, un confessore, un "dottore" al quale i siciliani affidano i propri sogni e le proprie speranze di fuggire...
September 20, 2009
I film di Tornatore sono per lo piĆ¹ capolavori.
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2009
This little Italian masterpiece is one of the most beautiful and simple films I've ever seen. It inspires you to be a better person, to follow your dreams, to not to cheat on people and to laugh with life's simplicity. It has comedy, drama, and truly moving moments. Thanks for this, Tornatore.

75/100
½ December 27, 2008
Another great Giussepe Tornatorre picture, shot in the beautiful country of Sicily.
Directing: Like always Tornatorre uses the heartwarming directing style in the magnificant small towns in Sicily. Also very nice how he buld the story up and the way he showed people how they confessed to the con-man Joe Morretti. The cinematography was really great, expecially in the beginning where the camera went thru the town filming the people who where rehearsing for their screen-test. And i cannot forget to mention the like always wonderfull music of Ennio Morricone.
Acting: I expected bad acting, but i was wrong, Sergio Castellitto gave a very good performance as Joe Morretti, the other actors where ok, not bad but good enough.
My top 5 Giuseppe Tornatore:1. Nuovo Cinema Paradiso2. The legend of 19003. Malena4. The Star Maker/ L'uomo delle stelle5. La Sconosciuta
November 8, 2008
It takes a deep dive into humanity!
½ October 7, 2008
Joe Morelli: We are here to offer you a fantastic future!
September 26, 2008
great story. very well written. some really great camera techniques.
June 4, 2008
This wasn't my favorite of Tornatore's films...not at all.
May 16, 2008
A well-made Italian drama. Well recommended.
½ December 13, 2007
below the delivery oif Cinema Paradiso, but still nice
December 7, 2007
Es uno de los films mas conmovedores que he visto, su fotografia y sus historias. es una historia conmovedoramente bella.
November 21, 2007
Charming! Funny! Sad! Brilliant!
November 9, 2007
Italian movie takes place in post-WW2 southern Italy. You'll see all the stupid small towns in Italy people came from and see the tough life they had wrapped up in this performance about a con-artist who makes a mess of himself and the people around him. Tiziana Lodato is gorgeous!!
November 7, 2007
One of the few films that you most certainly cannot predict the ending to by simply watching the first 30 minutes.
November 5, 2007
Besides the two fast-forward-quickly-dear scenes this really is an interesting movie as it ends with a con artist's regret and remorse...the idea of open confession before a camera is also interesting...getting suckered with a promise of stardom when one lives in squallor and poverty is as old as the hills...but still tragic no matter how you cut it.
November 1, 2007
The cover is deceptive - It has the intensity of a Fellini film and is probably Guiseppe Tornatore's most underrated film. The film is superb and on par with the best of World Cinema. This film deserves the Criterion Collection treatment - i.e. a Director's Cut, technical excellence, and added features..
October 30, 2007
simply brilliant this tornatore fella
½ October 25, 2007
puzzled by the poster; it doesnt represent the film at all. which, btw, is brilliant. why is this not on dad in the uk?
October 2, 2007
This is Tornatore's ground lovely Italian movie, with beatiful landscapes, photography and music and a story ful of fun, love and drama. great movie for a date
Page 2 of 3