Star Trek - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Trek Reviews

Page 2 of 17
Richard von Busack
MetroActive
March 17, 2015
There is still life and romance in these movies.
Chris Roberts
Uncut Magazine [UK]
March 17, 2015
In short, it'll please everyone, while never being as bland as that might sound.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Marc Fennell
Triple J
March 17, 2015
I think JJ Abrams and his movie 'gets' what Trek is supposed to be about.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mal Vincent
The Virginian-Pilot
March 17, 2015
A Star is reborn as director J.J. Abrams' re imagining of Star Trek emerges, against the odds, as a smart space epic that can be embraced even by wary Trek devotees.
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
March 17, 2015
Abrams also avoids the pitfalls of the three Star Wars prequels, by making it a thrill to meet these familiar characters before they became the stars of the stars.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Kirk Baird
Toledo Blade
March 17, 2015
Star Trek director J.J. Abrams proves to be just what the franchise needed a jolt of life from someone unencumbered by the baggage that comes with more than 40 years of lore and legacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Steve Persall
Tampa Bay Times
March 17, 2015
Abrams' movie inspires me to boldly go where I never thought I would: back for seconds.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Leah Rozen
People Magazine
March 17, 2015
There's much wit here, bang-up action scenes and a twisting plot that will make sense to those who truly care to follow it. May this latest incarnation of the series live long and prosper.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Neil Miller
Film School Rejects
March 17, 2015
This version is new and fresh, but it doesn't forget its roots -- and I think fans will appreciate that.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
March 17, 2015
Abrams had a responsibility that most other action film directors never need to worry about. He succeeds in parts, maybe enough for the young, modern audiences for whom the film has been made, but old Trekkies may have some issues.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
March 17, 2015
If you're a self-confessed Trekkie as I am you can't help but compare this cast to the original cast. I was surprised how easily I accepted Zachary Quinto as Spock and Karl Urban seems to channel Deforest Kelly at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Andrew Collins
Radio Times
March 17, 2015
With the help of his young and pretty cast, Abrams has managed to successfully reboot a 43-year-old formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
September 28, 2014
For the first time in all my encounters with the Enterprise and the Federation, I actually cared about several of those important figures seated at the ship controls.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
August 4, 2013
A manically paced, profoundly affectionate and highly entertaining prequel to a cultural touchstone.
Top Critic
Tom Charity
CNN.com
August 4, 2013
Did somebody just reach through the space-time continuum and pull out a white rabbit?
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide
August 4, 2013
Fun, funny, exhilarating, and occasionally touching, Star Trek gives Gene Roddenberry's enduring sci-fi series a much-needed shot in the arm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
A work of considerable technical expertise and workmanlike efficiency: It's uncanny how it hits every little pop culture note anyone could possibly expect from it.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
May 15, 2013
Abrams brings a fresh perspective that strips the series to its essential elements while still paying homage to what made the original special in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Stephen Carty
Flix Capacitor
September 30, 2012
The character work is consistently ace, but Star Trek 2009 doesn't offer the high-minded, underlying ideas that the show was known for.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 29, 2012
... it pleases me to report that the new film from Director J.J. Abrams pulled me (a Trek newbie) in like a Romulan tractor beam.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 17