Star Trek - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Trek Reviews

Page 1 of 17
June 22, 2016
J.J. Abrams' restart of the famous saga is a slick, well-produced piece of entertainment that blows the cobwebs off the venerable series.
June 17, 2016
This is not your father's Star Trek (for better or for worse).
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 13, 2016
Requiring little or no foreknowledge of Klingons and Romulans, this "Star Trek" is a grand equalizer, transporting everyone to a space where it's possible to just sit back and marvel at the starlit view seen from the Captain's chair.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 17, 2015
Star Trek has remarkable freshness and originality for something so deeply familiar. And it leaves us confidant that a venerable piece of pop culture is in good hands, at least for the time being.
March 17, 2015
Star Trek keeps you occupied with the usual sort of thing you find in science-fiction adventures, done somewhat more wittily.
March 17, 2015
Whether watching Kirk and Sulu skydive from space, a rural Mid-West dotted with vast interstellar towers, or Kirk do battle with a very ill-tempered beastie on a frozen moon, it's hard not to gape in wonder.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
I didn't go to this with much enthusiasm but, of course, it's been completely reinvented by J.J. Abrams and he's done a terrific job.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
Star Trek works by paying homage to the past without being chained down by its history.
March 17, 2015
As far as performance goes, Pine and Karl Urban -- Kirk and Bones, respectively -- do offer up moments of tongue-in-cheek allusion, but they sell it straight-up, and save the movie from becoming a list of inside jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
The film is sufficiently smart and engaging that Abrams has effectively guaranteed the characters will be back for further adventures.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
J.J. Abrams' Star Trek reboot beams a fresh set of dilithium crystals into a science-fiction film franchise that has been eking by on cinematic life support since 1991's The Undiscovered Country.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2015
This is a fantastic movie. It's pacing is rapid-fire, the action is larger-than-life and raises blood pressure with ease, and the characters come to life in a very cool way.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 17, 2015
Star Trek is back. It's action-packed, exciting, and visually spectacular -- who would have thought that the dying sci-fi series could be resurrected into something this fun?
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
Star Trek is such a well-written, superbly acted and amazingly staged film that it sets a new standard for summer action films.
March 17, 2015
Some will walk away convinced they have seen the best Star Trek movie of them all. I can only agree wholeheartedly.
March 17, 2015
With this new, dynamic duo in place, the possibilities for exploring the fabled final frontier seem endless.
March 17, 2015
I'm no Trekkie, I don't speak Klingon, I've never boldly been anywhere in the least bit exciting -- my fear of motorways has always hampered me horribly in this respect -- and I don't like action epics but [Star Trek] is quite fun.
March 17, 2015
J.J. Abrams brings the beloved but undeniably creaky franchise back to square one while still delivering a thoroughly contemporary science fiction adventure rooted in the spirit of Gene Roddenberry's original conception.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
You don't have to be a Star Trek fan to enjoy this rollicking movie. J.J. Abrams' reboot of the 1966 TV space adventure series is fast-paced, action-packed and lots of fun.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2015
There is still life and romance in these movies.
Page 1 of 17