Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope Reviews

Page 1 of 7
July 5, 2020
Few films are ingrained in pop culture like Star Wars, partly because few films changed cinema like Star Wars.
May 27, 2020
If you're out to see a movie with symbolism galore, stay away from Star Wars, but if a memory of that feeling you had at the Saturday matinee as a child is what you want, go stand in line.
May 4, 2020
Star Wars is not just a movie to me. It's not just a movie to a lot of people. It's a part of who we are. It defines us. It's an important piece of our lives and it will live on in all of us forever.
May 1, 2020
Written and directed magnificently by George Lucas, the cast is excellent... but it is Chewbacca and the two robots who walk off with the acting honors. (Don't ask me what a Wookie is, go see the movie!)
February 27, 2020
I don't see how I can come out ahead panning Star Wars, George Lucas's science-fiction film that has been acclaimed by children of all ages as the Fun Movie of the year.
December 26, 2019
Star Wars began as a story that paid homage to what came before while forging its own path into the future.
December 20, 2019
It speaks to how timeless A New Hope has become that we take in so much of its art direction as it tends to whiz by so fast it requires multiple views to form an opinion of.
December 16, 2019
Star Wars single-handedly changed the game for blockbuster movies and remains one of the greatest films of all time.
December 12, 2019
Without the simple spiritual convictions of his predecessors, or the philosophical speculations of his contemporaries, Lucas has rather left his audience out in the cold.
October 16, 2019
Can you imagine falling love with a [droid] called R2 or a golden robot with Cary Grant's accent? Well, I did.
August 30, 2019
Full of scenes that have been part of the collective cinematographic imaginary of several generations for four decades. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 19, 2019
A long time ago...
April 18, 2019
What George Lucas accomplished is truly remarkable.
February 6, 2019
This is one film that exceeds its tremendous pre-release ballyhoo. Few movies have ever been so much fun to watch.
January 26, 2019
It's so fun to watch, even now I'm in my 30s and I've seen it 100 times (not literally). The characters, setting, soundtrack and story are all top-rate. Watch it: now!
December 17, 2018
With iconic characters and moments, A New Hope blazed a trail for cinema and helped by being a damn fine movie too.
January 3, 2018
It is the cinematic magic and the sense of joyous fun that makes "Star Wars" a very special film.
December 12, 2017
A boy's adventure yarn in the most traditional, unabashedly entertaining sense.
December 12, 2017
Oh, the astronomical audiences; oh, the mundane story; oh, the over-cute little robots (one fat, one thin); oh, the vapid actors, the galactic shootouts; oh, the brilliant technology and oh, the boredom of it all.
December 12, 2017
Star Wars is, indeed, a movie that dares to be different, not only in setting, but in theme at a time when imagination has surrendered to realism in motion pictures. If you don't enjoy Star Wars, you are not as young at heart as you think you are.
Page 1 of 7