Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 1 of 11
June 5, 2016
It is not remotely devoid of value. It's just that none of this value comes from plot, character, or capacity to provide entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
December 17, 2015
The saga begins with this relentlessly erratic installment...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 15, 2015
Everything in Phantom Menace exists in a bright noisy vacuum.
December 14, 2015
The movie is fun, for the most part, and several scenes are as good or better than anything Lucas created in the original films. The human characters, however, are not nearly as interesting as those in the earlier episodes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 14, 2015
What if it had been good? What if it had been a movie?
December 11, 2015
'The Phantom Menace' is definitely the major reason most fans, even prequel apologists like myself, don't watch the Star Wars saga in chronological order.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 16, 2015
Do kids really want to follow a plot about intergalactic trade embargoes?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 16, 2015
If there's anything really disappointing about Episode I, it's not being able to line up for Episode 2 tomorrow.
November 16, 2015
In his new work, Lucas often forgets his story to linger on sets. Perhaps more accurately, this is a film about sets and mythologies that come out of the cheesiest sci-fi tradition.
November 16, 2015
The visual effects in The Phantom Menace are so good that you find yourself not caring very much about Qui-Gon's prophetic murmurings.
November 16, 2015
As each magnificently choreographed set piece unfolds in The Phantom Menace, there's little doubt that George Lucas knows how to create populist entertainment at its best.
November 16, 2015
Forget the overworked plot... Marvel instead at the state-of-the-art technical wizardry and fizzing action that's just enough to keep nostalgic wistfulness at bay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2015
Neeson and McGregor seem so focused on hitting their marks for the blue screen, that they barely make eye contact, let alone generate any genuine emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 16, 2015
None of the human actors here make much of an impression.
November 16, 2015
What I can't comprehend is why the political details had to be so tedious and abstract. Will the kids of our nation and the world truly be titillated by trade wars and the spectacle of a do-nothing Senate?
November 16, 2015
Look, I wanted to love The Phantom Menace, too. I was an adolescent boy and would enjoy being one again for a couple of hours. But the movie has a way of deflating all but the most delusional of hopes.
November 16, 2015
Mr. Lucas is not without a certain technocratic sagacity, but I don't think he's communicating even with the young as astutely as he once did.
November 16, 2015
Character and personality take a back seat on this ride.
December 13, 2013
This is just another 3D cash grab by George Lucas. If you didn't like the film before, you won't like the film now.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
June 30, 2013
The Force may not be strong in this episode, but it's there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 11