Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 1 of 11
May 17, 2018
Exceptional fight choreography coupled with one of the best songs in Star Wars' history certainly isn't enough to save [it], but next time someone makes the ill-advised choice to check it out, you at least have [a] great sequence to look forward to.
November 27, 2017
From the ridiculous title, with those two M's gummily stuck together in the middle, to the uniformly atrocious performances, from the incomprehensible plot to the sluggish pacing, The Phantom Menace is an unsalvageable disaster.
November 1, 2017
... "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" is the weakest movie in the series, but that does not mean it's an absolute disaster. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 28, 2017
As a standalone film, The Phantom Menace probably won't appeal to kids raised on rapid editing and epic explosions, nor does it work as an introduction to the Star Wars universe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 5, 2016
It is not remotely devoid of value. It's just that none of this value comes from plot, character, or capacity to provide entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
December 17, 2015
The saga begins with this relentlessly erratic installment...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 15, 2015
Everything in Phantom Menace exists in a bright noisy vacuum.
December 14, 2015
The movie is fun, for the most part, and several scenes are as good or better than anything Lucas created in the original films. The human characters, however, are not nearly as interesting as those in the earlier episodes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 14, 2015
What if it had been good? What if it had been a movie?
December 11, 2015
'The Phantom Menace' is definitely the major reason most fans, even prequel apologists like myself, don't watch the Star Wars saga in chronological order.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 16, 2015
Do kids really want to follow a plot about intergalactic trade embargoes?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 16, 2015
If there's anything really disappointing about Episode I, it's not being able to line up for Episode 2 tomorrow.
November 16, 2015
In his new work, Lucas often forgets his story to linger on sets. Perhaps more accurately, this is a film about sets and mythologies that come out of the cheesiest sci-fi tradition.
November 16, 2015
The visual effects in The Phantom Menace are so good that you find yourself not caring very much about Qui-Gon's prophetic murmurings.
November 16, 2015
As each magnificently choreographed set piece unfolds in The Phantom Menace, there's little doubt that George Lucas knows how to create populist entertainment at its best.
November 16, 2015
Forget the overworked plot... Marvel instead at the state-of-the-art technical wizardry and fizzing action that's just enough to keep nostalgic wistfulness at bay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2015
Neeson and McGregor seem so focused on hitting their marks for the blue screen, that they barely make eye contact, let alone generate any genuine emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 16, 2015
None of the human actors here make much of an impression.
November 16, 2015
What I can't comprehend is why the political details had to be so tedious and abstract. Will the kids of our nation and the world truly be titillated by trade wars and the spectacle of a do-nothing Senate?
November 16, 2015
Look, I wanted to love The Phantom Menace, too. I was an adolescent boy and would enjoy being one again for a couple of hours. But the movie has a way of deflating all but the most delusional of hopes.
Page 1 of 11