Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 3 of 11
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
February 9, 2012
For the most part, the sludgy re-processing of the original leaves everything looking as if it was lensed through a wet, worn sock. Only one sequence -- the epic pod race on the planet Tatooine -- goes close to making any worthwhile use of the 3D format
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 9, 2012
The only plus point is introducing newbies to the big-screen Star Wars experience -- if the 3D price is right for you.
| Original Score: 2/5
Adam Lee Davies
Little White Lies
February 9, 2012
Still unsure of the basic mechanics of the plot, drags in places and that Binks chap wasn't just a bad dream, but when it soars, it soars.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Maytum
Total Film
February 9, 2012
The added visual depth does little to disguise quite how flat everything in between is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Drew McWeeny
HitFix
February 8, 2012
I will say this: the time and money they spent working on this post-conversion is evident in the final result. It is technically very impressive.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
February 7, 2012
The Phantom Menace's fleeting pleasures aren't even table scraps to my inner child.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jarrod Walker
FILMINK (Australia)
February 6, 2012
The under-utilised 3D adds little to this prequel, which only serves as a sore reminder of the brilliance of the original films.
Calum Marsh
Slant Magazine
February 5, 2012
It's difficult to discern precisely where this all went wrong, and even more difficult to speculate about possible improvements.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Matt Springer
Common Sense Media
July 21, 2011
Kid-centric but violent prequel lacks energy of originals.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
July 6, 2010
Honestly, I had a decent time.
Rob Nelson
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
August 19, 2009
Is it ironic or just par for the course that the most technologically radical FX film ever made would also be the most egregiously regressive blockbuster imaginable?
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Episode One lacks a lot of the heart the original series embraced.
Mac Verstandig
rec.arts.movies.reviews
October 18, 2008
The special effects are some of the most dazzling and amazing ever seen on the big screen. In addition, the acting is excellent.
Steve Biodrowski
ESplatter
August 19, 2008
Clearly there is something wrong with a film, when the loudest applause occurs as the curtain goes up, in anticipation of, rather than response to, what is being seen.
Mark Halverson
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
The visuals are indeed eye-popping, but I was left with no vested emotional tie to either story or characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Richard Luck
Film4
March 4, 2008
The horror of Jar Jar Binks aside, there's plenty in Episode I to keep us entertained.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
It's still a galaxy far, far away, and it still looks like nothing we've ever seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Nick Bradshaw
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Charmless, sexless, passionless and robot-humoured, it's preposterously uninvolving.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
It's good to have Star Wars -- any Star Wars -- back after such a long time; and it's worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Keith Phipps
AV Club
March 2, 2006
Despite a shaky start and the presence of questionable elements throughout, by the time it arrives at its finale The Phantom Menace has won its place alongside the original Star Wars trilogy.
Page 3 of 11