Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant
September 30, 2012
Anyone hoping the 3D would make-up for the film's many shortcomings, will probably continue to feel cheated by the first Star Wars prequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
December 13, 2013
This is just another 3D cash grab by George Lucas. If you didn't like the film before, you won't like the film now.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
March 8, 2012
Has a film director ever induced such terrible performances from such great actors? Liam Neeson - wooden, Ewan McGregor - monotone and the Oscar winning Natalie Portman - a speaking alarm clock!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Calum Marsh
Slant Magazine
February 5, 2012
It's difficult to discern precisely where this all went wrong, and even more difficult to speculate about possible improvements.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Matt Maytum
Total Film
February 9, 2012
The added visual depth does little to disguise quite how flat everything in between is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Springer
Common Sense Media
July 21, 2011
Kid-centric but violent prequel lacks energy of originals.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
February 10, 2012
Oh George, why?
February 9, 2012
The only plus point is introducing newbies to the big-screen Star Wars experience -- if the 3D price is right for you.
| Original Score: 2/5
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
January 1, 2000
Eye candy isn't a reward in and of itself -- it has to be backed by substance.
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
March 23, 2012
We don't want to remember it's pretty bad. Then we do.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Kate Muir
Times (UK)
November 16, 2015
Do kids really want to follow a plot about intergalactic trade embargoes?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
November 16, 2015
What I can't comprehend is why the political details had to be so tedious and abstract. Will the kids of our nation and the world truly be titillated by trade wars and the spectacle of a do-nothing Senate?
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
May 19, 1999
I could still have enjoyed it if only there were actors or characters strong enough to stand out against this computer enhanced backdrop.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Paul Chambers
CNNRadio
February 27, 2012
Darth Maul is back, this time waving his wand in 3D. "Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace" was poorly received by critics when it debuted, so does it fare any better with its new up-conversion? Not really. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Kevin Lally
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
You keep looking for the emotional center of the movie and never find it.
Alison Willmore
Movieline
February 10, 2012
The Phantom Menace, in any number of dimensions, is an exercise in disappointment, a film filled with enough callbacks to the first trilogy to remind you about what you loved about them without adding much of note in all the new material.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
January 1, 2000
Phantom Menace is unlikely to convince folks who waited in ticket lines for weeks that they made the right choice.
Todd Gilchrist
Boxoffice Magazine
February 11, 2012
The Phantom Menace is, at best and worst, a mediocre film-a boring adventure undermined by anemic political theatrics and the rusty artistic tastes of its maker.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
February 9, 2012
For the most part, the sludgy re-processing of the original leaves everything looking as if it was lensed through a wet, worn sock. Only one sequence -- the epic pod race on the planet Tatooine -- goes close to making any worthwhile use of the 3D format
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Evan Williams
The Australian
December 15, 2015
Everything in Phantom Menace exists in a bright noisy vacuum.
Page 1 of 11