Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker Reviews

Page 1 of 13
January 16, 2020
It contributes to a major cause, but this last entry feels like a fun adventure from start to finish, and that's what this world is all about. It's not about angry fans. [Full review in Spanish].
January 16, 2020
But in between all of the galaxy-hopping and doodad-hunting, there's some great Star Wars here. This trilogy has been at its most effective when exploring the Skywalker legacy, and Rise of Skywalker continues that trend.
January 13, 2020
fundamentally a nostalgia machine, drawing heavily on the iconography and narrative beats of the original trilogy but with just enough of twists that it feels relatively new
January 11, 2020
The best Star Wars episode since The Empire Strikes Back. With as much nostalgia as new story content, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker rose to the occasion full force. (Pun intended) - ignore the haters.
January 8, 2020
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker is a good tentpole movie for the holiday season and a fun Star Wars movie that ends on a high.
January 8, 2020
Powerful entertainment on an enormous scale, it's the most emotionally resonant Star Wars movie since Return of the Jedi in 1983.
January 6, 2020
It's by turns delightful, muddled, cathartic, and frustrating, sometimes within the same scene. And what could be more post-1977 Star Wars than that?
January 6, 2020
J.J. Abrams had the arduous task to tie up loose ends not just for The Rise of Skywalker's two predecessors, but the entire Saga.
January 3, 2020
Not the roaring, perfect send-off we had hoped for but it's still a fun, sometimes exhilarating, adventure and helps to remind us why Star Wars will live on.
January 2, 2020
The pacing in the first act leaves something to be desired but at the end of the day, the joy I felt watching this beloved story come to its conclusion could not be diminished. The action, the characters, and the overall world won me over one last time.
December 31, 2019
There's never going to be a way to make everyone happy - particularly when it comes to some character arcs and the marginalization of others - but this film does a pretty good job of giving the people what they want.
December 31, 2019
They kind of went back to the feel of the original Star Wars. Even the heavy undertones still felt fun.
December 30, 2019
42 years after the 1st StarWars opened, the final chapter of the Skywalker saga rides mostly on nostalgia & little innovative storytelling. While enjoyable and rousing at times, when it's over I was left with an overwhelming sense of meh.
December 30, 2019
Abrams is a purely visual narrator and works with functionality and integration, and the result is classicist and dynamic. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 30, 2019
The film may feel so carefully sculpted that it lacks a sense of spontaneity or earthy honesty. But its final scenes are beautifully played.
December 29, 2019
The nitpicks are small compared to what the film gets right.
December 29, 2019
Rey and Kylo's love-hate tête-à-tête remains front and center in "Rise of Skywalker," even amid some mind-numbing periphery.
December 27, 2019
The real Leia, the one we fell in love with, lives on inside us as she always has. She still inspires us, amuses us, moves us. And we can visit her anytime we want, at the touch of a play button.
December 27, 2019
The overstuffed adventure makes for a reasonably satisfying conclusion to this trilogy, if not the nine-movie opus begun in 1977.
December 27, 2019
It was entertaining and ended up giving me more than I expected, but I was't expecting much. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 13