Stardom - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stardom Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ January 6, 2016
Anti-cinà (C)matographique comme concept. Un film audacieux qui dà (C)molit du dà (C)but à la fin les mà (C)dias, les journalistes et le star système, pas le meilleur moyen d'avoir de bonnes critiques. Haha!! Mais il a la tête dure Arcand! Impossible de s'attacher au personnage principale qui n'est pas très brillante et seulement très jolie. J'ai vu ce film à nouveau rà (C)cemment et j'ai pensà (C) aussitôt à Kim Kardashian, à quel point des personnalità (C)s banales sont mis sur un pià (C)destal par les mà (C)dias. Pour les vrais cinà (C)philes, un excellent film. Mais ceux qui aiment le cinà (C)ma plus traditionnel, commencez par Le Dà (C)clin de l'Empire Amà (C)ricain pour vous initier au cinà (C)ma de Arcand.
April 8, 2012
I really don't know why so many people disliked this movie. I honestly LOVED it!
February 7, 2011
Despite strong acting by many (especially Dan Aykroyd), and a few good cameos (Arcand really likes them), the movie in itself is slow and uninteresting. Once again, Arcand tries to play the sociologist by expressing his opinions clumsily, using the same techniques over and over again since his first movies. I think that he is not the great intellectual he wish he were. The storyline, which follows rising star Tina Menzhal, doesn't bring any new or particularly original insight into the shallow and transient world of fashion.
March 25, 2010
Can't get enought of it! � chaque fois qu'il passe à Fashion Television, je l'écoute. Bon, ce n'est pas un film fantastique mais je l'aime pour l'aspect véridique de l'histoire. On y croit. Avant de faire commercialisation de la mode, je pensais que le monde de la mode était comme ça. J'ai appris que ce monde vaut mieux que son image. Oui, le train de vie est fou et il est basé dans la superficiabilité mais il vaut mieux que ça!
February 4, 2010
I watched like twenty minutes of this, but turned it off because it got pretty boring. Definitely not for me.
½ November 16, 2009
Yeah, Denys, we get the social comment. I just hate to tell you, even bad TV is a whole lot more interesting.
½ March 16, 2009
High-concept exploration of celebrity seemed curiously dated and outmoded even when it was released. Remote and cold.
December 7, 2008
MPIX, how many movies have you lead me to fall in love with?
I loved this one.
½ September 4, 2008
So-so satire...too many familiar elements. Jessica Pare shows her huge breasts, if you're interested in that sort of thing.:P
August 4, 2008
Underrated gem looks less and less like satire as the years go by, the film is cleverly told thru the media, provocative and entertaining. A great cast, Akroyd get's his best role in years and Pare is a perfect Muse.
August 4, 2008
I liked this one. It's all about how beauty is only skin deep... or something like that... I was too busy looking at the beauty to pay attention...
June 28, 2008
good attempt... nice experiment with illustration
February 21, 2008
An excellent Canadian film! Fresh, fun and creative!
January 23, 2008
a fairly random movie that doesnt go anywhere fast, but interesting angle seeing the movie mostly through the medias eyes
½ January 4, 2008
I didn?t enjoy this film. I understand what the film was trying to do but it still I didn?t work for me. The performances were generally good in this film.
December 25, 2007
I found this to be a quick-witted, dramatic but comedic mockumentary. The subject matter seems to be dependent on the viewer's taste. The jokes are tightly placed throughout the film and has some nice cameos. I cannot help but feel some of the film was influenced by "Pret-a-Porter."
½ December 14, 2007
It was kinda good with this kind of voyeuristic pseudo documentary feel. Some of it was a little forced and if Arcand had perhaps pulled back a bit it would have been a really good film.
November 18, 2007
Bon... En bout de ligne, l'histoire est aussi palpitante qu'une chronique de Elle Québec, avec quelques scènes chouettes je trouve quand même, mais contrairement à d'autres denys Arcand j'ai trouvé des choses intéressantes à la réalisation, des parti pris, des intuitions qui ne m'ont pas déplu, voire surpris. En particulier, la scène du défilé de mode est vraiment ingénieuse, à mon goût. Robert Altman lui avait dit :"n n'a pas le budget pour tourner une vraie scène de Défilé", alors la solution du réal est excellente. Probablement mieux même que shooter le vrai défilé...
½ October 14, 2007
Strange movie that was definitely unique. Still was really boring most of the time.
Page 1 of 2