Starsky & Hutch - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Starsky & Hutch Reviews

Page 2 of 396
June 20, 2015
Tongue in cheek tribute to 70's TV crime drama. Entertaining when it was released but felt a little flat watching it again. Still good for a laugh.
May 11, 2015
I honestly don't know if this movie would have been better or worse to watch if I'd ever seen the original tv show, but the fact of the matter is that there was really nothing in this movie that was worth remembering, bad or good.
½ April 1, 2015
It's not the best movie I've ever seen. But it's a whole lot of fun.
March 25, 2015
This movie is great, the cast of Owen Wilson and Ben stiller is amazing. The comedy and satire on action films plus the fact it's actually a good and true reboot. It's just awesome. Also I love all the stupid antics especially the dance off.
Super Reviewer
½ February 18, 2015
Always thought it was kinda funny that two undercover cops drive around in a souped up Gran Torino with a custom paint job. What's that noise? oh its the fuzz in their muscle car.

The first parody of one of the two biggest TV shows with the coolest cars, the other being 'The Dukes of Hazzard'. Its nothing too outrageously original overall, a simple drug kingpin needs to be taken down and the cool hip duo are on the case.

Its not really about the plot though, this film is just about the humour and having a good time. Like many Stiller films its a sly sneaky semi-serious spoof/parody comedy which is light-hearted, at times clever, but not over the top with silly childish jokes...not too much. A good decision because a serious adaptation of this would never have worked. The casting of Stiller and Wilson is actually inspired as they both fit the roles perfectly, Stiller actually looking very similar to Glaser and really capturing that 70's vibe. Both guys take to their characters like ducks to water and really make the whole film very likeable and thoroughly watchable. Gotta admit I had my doubts at first.

Other casting includes frat pack members Ferrell and Vaughn, both of whom boost the film giving solid amusing performances. Loved Ferrell and his slightly creepy Big Earl character. So the cast is great and really holds the film together but I must give big kudos to the overall visuals in the film. Obviously set in the 70's but to be honest you could be fooled into thinking they'd gone back in time to shoot this. Very impressed with everything, all the period cars driving around, abundant street trash and grime (including those darn pesky cardboard boxes that turn up in all car chases), the costumes, hair styles and even those classic 70's TV show camera angles and zooms. They did tend to cram in almost every cliched 70's tune they could muster though, didn't need that, we get the idea about the era.

Of course they do cater for the car porn fans out there. Plenty of Torino action naturally with slow motion action, close-ups, lots of skidding and tyre smoke etc...maybe too much? Gotta expect that I guess, it is a nice looking and sounding car and virtually a character in its own right.

I think they went the right way with this, as I said, a serious attempt would have been laughable. No way this could of been a gritty hard action thriller, not with that car, that dialog and those threads! I'm also glad they didn't reduce the concept to childish smut (ahem). Its a by the books action comedy flick, but the fact its a neat little parody of a classic cop show which has actually been well thought out, makes this worth your time in my view.
December 3, 2014
Goes down easy, like fresh apple juice.
October 22, 2014
Give it a five star! DO IT, DO IT
October 2, 2014
A criminally underrated, and still very very funny, entry into the Frat Pack series(?)
August 1, 2014
About 2 to 3 good laughs to be had. Doesn't justify 1 hour and 40 minutes though.
½ July 20, 2014
Ugh. There is just something so disappointing about this movie. As such a fan of "Zoolander" I have high expectations for a Ben Stiller/Owen Wilson movie, as long as isn't a Wes Anderson Film. But this is just a limp effort with (from what I remember) one decent laugh towards the end. I could give this movie 2 stars, maybe 2 1/2 because its not awful but it was such a disappointment, and not an interesting let down either.
July 19, 2014
Stale and barely funny.
½ July 3, 2014
Funny at times..fair to good if you like the actors. Some hysterical moments. "Do it"
June 29, 2014
harmless enough. dance off great
June 24, 2014
A decent twist on an old tv show. Forgettable but fairly funny
June 9, 2014
Stupid mostly. Has a few funny moments.
June 6, 2014
Such a funny comedy movie. It has funny moments but it is a tad cliche and done over. The actors did a good job in this one! This is solid comedic gold..
June 2, 2014
the bar mitzvah music band; the prison scene with will ferrell; the hand towels ;)
May 24, 2014
I love this movie you have to watch it!!! "Do It"
April 26, 2014
Wilson and Stiller work well together in this fun comedy action movie.
½ April 7, 2014
Great movie. Very funny, good action, nice duo performance from Stiller and Wilson, and great performances from Vaughn, Bateman, and Dogg.
Page 2 of 396