The Station Agent Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
October 17, 2003
Each of these characters has a generic, can-be- summed-up- with-one- character-trait quality, and there's no compelling reason for them to exist or for their stories to be told.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kent Turner
Film-Forward.com
April 15, 2004
As comforting, a bit hokey, and predictable as a CBS Sunday Night Movie, this intimate film should play well on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
February 9, 2004
...indie flavor-of-the-month Patricia Clarkson is so predictable in her quirky style that you can set your watch by her.
Gabe Leibowitz
Film and Felt
January 7, 2004
A dull and obvious film posing as a subtle character study.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
July 21, 2011
There isn't a character, location or situation in The Station Agent that could exist anywhere other than in a screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jimmy O
Film Snobs
January 12, 2004
The Station Agent features characters so insufferably quirky their relationship could only exist in Indie-wood.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Blake French
NutzWorld
November 20, 2003
...I was checking my watch every few minutes?even though I knew that I wasn?t wearing one?just because it gave me something to do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Kim Linekin
eye WEEKLY
October 1, 2003
High-concept elements can't obscure how tired the surrogate family storyline is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
November 13, 2003
It's a small film about a small man, but it makes a big impression.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
April 27, 2003
Rarely has friendship -- honest, genuine friendship -- been portrayed so truthfully, with the gentle humor that belies real intimacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 17, 2003
Yes, this is a comedy, but it's also sad, and finally it's simply a story about trying to figure out what you love to do and then trying to figure out how to do it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
October 2, 2003
[The Station Agent] brings a fine sense of place, a saving humor, and a delicate appreciation of the way we sit tight on our hurts and losses, or run from them in order to avoid further pain.
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
October 4, 2003
A quiet joy, with sensitive performances of breathtaking delicacy.
| Original Score: A-
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
A quiet joy with breathtaking performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Michael Szymanski
Zap2it.com
October 9, 2003
It's a wonderfully simple story about feeling like a geek and realizing that you're not alone.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
James Rocchi
Netflix
October 9, 2003
This human drama may be a big showcase for small actor Peter Dinklage, but it's much more than a one-man show. ...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin Lally
Film Journal International
September 16, 2003
Like many a Sundance film, The Station Agent is something less than its festival buzz, but it's an often-gratifying vehicle for several likeable and talented actors.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
October 13, 2003
... one of my favorites ...
Todd Gilchrist
FilmStew.com
October 14, 2003
McCarthy's impressive directorial debut reflects, like few other films in recent memory, the feeling that we aren't alone, no matter how much we might think we want to be.
Anton Bitel
Movie Gazette
March 19, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Jonathan W. Hickman
Entertainment Insiders
October 11, 2003
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
June 10, 2008
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Leonard Maltin
Leonard Maltin's Picks
October 4, 2003
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
David Ansen
Newsweek
November 1, 2007

Boston Phoenix
October 22, 2003
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
November 1, 2003

Guardian
April 9, 2004
Top Critic

Houston Chronicle
July 21, 2005
Page 1 of 9