The Station Agent - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Station Agent Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 17, 2003
Each of these characters has a generic, can-be- summed-up- with-one- character-trait quality, and there's no compelling reason for them to exist or for their stories to be told.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 15, 2004
As comforting, a bit hokey, and predictable as a CBS Sunday Night Movie, this intimate film should play well on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 9, 2004
...indie flavor-of-the-month Patricia Clarkson is so predictable in her quirky style that you can set your watch by her.
January 7, 2004
A dull and obvious film posing as a subtle character study.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 21, 2011
There isn't a character, location or situation in The Station Agent that could exist anywhere other than in a screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 12, 2004
The Station Agent features characters so insufferably quirky their relationship could only exist in Indie-wood.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 20, 2003
...I was checking my watch every few minutes?even though I knew that I wasn?t wearing one?just because it gave me something to do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 1, 2003
High-concept elements can't obscure how tired the surrogate family storyline is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 13, 2003
It's a small film about a small man, but it makes a big impression.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 27, 2003
Rarely has friendship -- honest, genuine friendship -- been portrayed so truthfully, with the gentle humor that belies real intimacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 17, 2003
Yes, this is a comedy, but it's also sad, and finally it's simply a story about trying to figure out what you love to do and then trying to figure out how to do it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 2, 2003
[The Station Agent] brings a fine sense of place, a saving humor, and a delicate appreciation of the way we sit tight on our hurts and losses, or run from them in order to avoid further pain.
October 4, 2003
A quiet joy, with sensitive performances of breathtaking delicacy.
Read More | Original Score: A-
December 29, 2010
A quiet joy with breathtaking performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 9, 2003
It's a wonderfully simple story about feeling like a geek and realizing that you're not alone.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 9, 2003
This human drama may be a big showcase for small actor Peter Dinklage, but it's much more than a one-man show. ...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 16, 2003
Like many a Sundance film, The Station Agent is something less than its festival buzz, but it's an often-gratifying vehicle for several likeable and talented actors.
October 13, 2003
... one of my favorites ...
October 14, 2003
McCarthy's impressive directorial debut reflects, like few other films in recent memory, the feeling that we aren't alone, no matter how much we might think we want to be.
March 19, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 8