Stay Away, Joe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stay Away, Joe Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ July 9, 2015
HORRIBLE. Easily the worst Elvis movie. Terrible characters, racist stereotypes, zero plot... I wanted to punch Quentin Dean's character in the face, obnoxious 19 year old who acts like a 9 year old sex doll airhead. Shot like a bad Terry Gilliam movie too. The only redeeming factor of this film is the opening scene in which Elvis herds a group of cattle in his white Cadillac convertible. Amazing.
½ February 25, 2015
A 1.5 star movie that Elvis elevates to a 2.5 movie.....the script he was given was very weak but he plays the role confidently. If he can do this with a script like this, imagine what he would have done with a much better movie? Another missed opportunity but at least Elvis makes the most with it. Worth seeing if an Elvis fan, otherwise stay away.
January 9, 2014
Well, this was pretty awful.
½ January 8, 2014
one of the king's weaker entries
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ April 30, 2012
Abysmal waste of talent on stupid script that has no point and insulting stereotypes. The biggest shame is the casting of two great actresses, Joan Blondell and Katy Jurado, and not just criminally underusing them but throughly wasting them in terrible parts. Elvis movies are a scattershot bunch but this has to be one of the worst.
May 29, 2011
a facut si mai naspa
½ September 6, 2010
Elvis and the Penguin, Burgess Meredith play Native Americans- which isn't as offensive as it sounds. But it's not good either. Heart of gold Joe works with congress to get his father some cattle subsidies. But beyond heart of gold, he's also an asshole that puts his dick into anything that moves. Lots of drinkin' and fightin' scenes. I couldn't have believed that there's be a worse Elvis movie than Clambake, but this one is.
½ June 2, 2009
The main plot for the movie was pretty much lacking. What saved the movie from me turning it off were the off collar jokes and the sub plots with the girl and the crazy mom as well as Joe's sister. It does have some good moments but for the most part it seemed like just a reason for guys to be guys who just go around fighting eachother.
May 19, 2009
The main plot for the movie was pretty much lacking. What saved the movie from me turning it off were the off collar jokes and the sub plots with the girl and the crazy mom as well as Joe's sister. It does have some good moments but for the most part it seemed like just a reason for guys to be guys and the majority of the film was guys fighting for no apparent reason other than to ruffhouse.
May 11, 2009
not plot terrible film but elvis was gorgeous xxxx
March 11, 2009
This was absolutely terrrible! The plot was so simple: An Navajo named Joe Whitecloud makes a deal with some American Congressman to give a herd of cattle to his Joe's father, Charlie Lightcloud, to breed. That night, Joe throws a party and they end up roasting the only male bull! Meanwhile, Joe is constantly sweet-talking girls, angering their boyfriends, and trying to keep all heck from breaking loose. I do not know what the Director was thinking or even the writers. Most of the film is suppose to be physical slapstick comedy. Perhaps, if there was a better plot, more likeable characters, and less stereo-casting, this film may have been decent....
December 24, 2008
It seemed sort of pointless.
½ October 5, 2008
GOOD MOVIE WORTH WATCHING.
½ July 26, 2008
he did it again..so awesome
½ April 29, 2008
Another career killer for Elvis Presley as an actor. Racial stereotypes are an even bigger killer in what is a very unfunny modern western comedy. I am really suprised at the cast of actors that is in this mess. Some good talent is totally wasted. Even for Elvis fan's, this is a waste of time.
½ March 26, 2008
Not worth your time, even if you like the King.
½ August 26, 2007
Not as good as some of the others,but I liked him in the comedies.
½ August 8, 2007
hilarious, it's true there is no proper plot to speak of but stuff does happen ala napoleon dynamite i saw this on with me cousin D
Page 1 of 2