Steal Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Steal Me Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 6, 2005
[Painter's] best achievement is the way she skillfully manipulates her almost-known cast into complicated characters that you can care about.
September 22, 2005
Steal Me is a beautifully realized small film of understated power.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 22, 2005
It's not really original stuff, and there are few genuine surprises, but Painter skillfully layers visual details and off-the-cuff dialogue into a smart, condescension-free piece on small towns and the complicated lives they contain.
September 16, 2005
The often meandering Steal Me is a film that says just enough and leaves the rest to us to work out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 9, 2005
Everything about Steal Me, the new feature from the writer and director Melissa Painter, feels dangerously overripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 9, 2005
Drifter comes to small town, gets all the ladies hot. But it's not the steamy, literate Picnic, starring William Holden - instead it's the pretentious Steal Me, an artily photographed, puzzlingly acted indie.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 9, 2005
Solid performances can't save Melissa Painter's pretentious teen drama Steal Me, which plays like a cross between Dangerous Skin (without the gay sex) and Picnic (without the production values or credible situations).
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 9, 2005
If Alexander's performance isn't exactly a revelation, he's modest enough to allow pros like Seymour, a gifted actress usually relegated to supporting roles, do their thing.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 9, 2005
The plot is never overwrought, but it never fully ripens either, mostly because of some of the actors' self-consciousness and the stop-and-go pace.
Full Review | Original Score: '2/5'
September 9, 2005
The result is a film imbued with the tender awkwardness and poignancy of those first wary explorations--those electric moments that occur in the small space between childhood and newly discovered maturity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 7, 2005
Big Sky Country offers up an introspective teen drama about a teenage kleptomaniac who can't steal a break.
| Original Score: 7/10
September 6, 2005
Steal Me has at least one indie-film cliché too many.
August 20, 2005
Nobody in the film is going to steal the audience's attention span.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 20, 2005
What it lacks is believable dialogue, credible relationships and a serious foundation for its overripe psychology.
August 19, 2005
A garbage bin for contrived poetic platitudes and ruminations on sex and stealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 1