Steal a Pencil for Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Steal a Pencil for Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 7, 2008
Because the sheer scale of [the Holocaust] is incomprehensible, humanizing it, in a documentary like Steal a Pencil for Me, keeps it vivid.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 4, 2008
endlessly fascinating
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 12, 2007
An idiosyncratic, largely anecdotal story with larger reverberations.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 10, 2007
Love conquers all, including the Nazi war machine and an angry wife, in Ohayon's new Holocaust documentary.
| Original Score: 7/10
November 9, 2007
No first-person account of life in a Nazi concentration camp could ever be called 'romantic,' but the story of Jack Polak and Ina Soep -- comes close.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 9, 2007
Ohayan creates a fluid pace, matching the account of the survival with present day footage of the couple lecturing younger generations to raise Holocaust awareness.
November 9, 2007
Not even Hollywood could invent a romance more extraordinary than this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 9, 2007
It's a Holocaust story unlike any other, and filmmaker Michele Ohayon treats it with an engaging sensitivity.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 9, 2007
Irrepressibly moving without being sentimental, Steal a Pencil for Me is a testimony to true love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 9, 2007
What makes Ms. Ohayon's movie special is its recognition that epic horrors don't erase private dramas.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 9, 2007
The filmmaker elegantly documents both the past and the present with a measured yet heartfelt sincerity.
November 9, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 8, 2007
Some may think the Holocaust has nothing new to offer up, but Michele Ohayon says otherwise.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 8, 2007
The most moving story about love, longevity, infidelity and the Holocaust you may ever hear.
Top Critic
November 8, 2007
There's incredible feeling behind Steal A Pencil For Me -- enough to sustain two lives throughout unimaginable hardship -- but the film doesn't bring much of it to the surface.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 8, 2007
Michèle Ohayon's Steal a Pencil for Me offers a simple human story of dignity, levity and romance -- both unlikely qualities in the chaos and terror of Nazi-era Europe -- and exerts its own special charm.
November 7, 2007
Filmmaker Michèle Ohayon shapes her portrait of two vibrant old people with a fine hand (especially when it comes to interspersing historical footage), creating a valuable addition to the Cinema of Never Forget.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 3, 2007
Each moment in 'Steal a Pencil for Me' is a witness to the power of people, the will to live and to love.
October 31, 2007
Describing what Steal a Pencil for Me is about might actually do a disservice to this affectionately observed documentary.
October 12, 2007
Extraordinary...a sublime recollection of indefatigable affection and dedication in the face of enormous misery.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 2