Steal a Pencil for Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Steal a Pencil for Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Rob Humanick
Slant Magazine
November 9, 2007
A misguided documentary that mistakes cutesy, polished aesthetics for meaningful sentiment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Karina Longworth
SpoutBlog
November 12, 2007
An idiosyncratic, largely anecdotal story with larger reverberations.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Brian Orndorf
eFilmCritic.com
October 12, 2007
Extraordinary...a sublime recollection of indefatigable affection and dedication in the face of enormous misery.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Eric Kohn
New York Press
November 9, 2007
Ohayan creates a fluid pace, matching the account of the survival with present day footage of the couple lecturing younger generations to raise Holocaust awareness.
November 8, 2007
The most moving story about love, longevity, infidelity and the Holocaust you may ever hear.
Kent Turner
Film-Forward.com
January 4, 2008
endlessly fascinating
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
November 7, 2007
Filmmaker Michèle Ohayon shapes her portrait of two vibrant old people with a fine hand (especially when it comes to interspersing historical footage), creating a valuable addition to the Cinema of Never Forget.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
November 8, 2007
Some may think the Holocaust has nothing new to offer up, but Michele Ohayon says otherwise.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Leba Hertz
San Francisco Chronicle
October 12, 2007
So many documentaries about the Holocaust have been shown before. One would think we've seen enough. Steal a Pencil for Me proves we can never learn too much.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
November 10, 2007
Love conquers all, including the Nazi war machine and an angry wife, in Ohayon's new Holocaust documentary.
| Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Matt Zoller Seitz
New York Times
November 9, 2007
What makes Ms. Ohayon's movie special is its recognition that epic horrors don't erase private dramas.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
November 3, 2007
Each moment in 'Steal a Pencil for Me' is a witness to the power of people, the will to live and to love.
Eric Monder
Film Journal International
November 9, 2007
The filmmaker elegantly documents both the past and the present with a measured yet heartfelt sincerity.
Top Critic
Kevin Crust
Los Angeles Times
November 9, 2007
Irrepressibly moving without being sentimental, Steal a Pencil for Me is a testimony to true love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
October 31, 2007
Describing what Steal a Pencil for Me is about might actually do a disservice to this affectionately observed documentary.
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
November 8, 2007
Michèle Ohayon's Steal a Pencil for Me offers a simple human story of dignity, levity and romance -- both unlikely qualities in the chaos and terror of Nazi-era Europe -- and exerts its own special charm.
Glenn Whipp
Los Angeles Daily News
November 9, 2007
It's a Holocaust story unlike any other, and filmmaker Michele Ohayon treats it with an engaging sensitivity.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
November 9, 2007
Not even Hollywood could invent a romance more extraordinary than this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ken Fox
TV Guide
November 9, 2007
No first-person account of life in a Nazi concentration camp could ever be called 'romantic,' but the story of Jack Polak and Ina Soep -- comes close.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
March 7, 2008
Because the sheer scale of [the Holocaust] is incomprehensible, humanizing it, in a documentary like Steal a Pencil for Me, keeps it vivid.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2