Steal a Pencil for Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Steal a Pencil for Me Reviews

November 9, 2007
Not even Hollywood could invent a romance more extraordinary than this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 9, 2007
Irrepressibly moving without being sentimental, Steal a Pencil for Me is a testimony to true love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 9, 2007
What makes Ms. Ohayon's movie special is its recognition that epic horrors don't erase private dramas.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 8, 2007
Some may think the Holocaust has nothing new to offer up, but Michele Ohayon says otherwise.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
November 8, 2007
There's incredible feeling behind Steal A Pencil For Me -- enough to sustain two lives throughout unimaginable hardship -- but the film doesn't bring much of it to the surface.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 8, 2007
Michèle Ohayon's Steal a Pencil for Me offers a simple human story of dignity, levity and romance -- both unlikely qualities in the chaos and terror of Nazi-era Europe -- and exerts its own special charm.
November 7, 2007
Filmmaker Michèle Ohayon shapes her portrait of two vibrant old people with a fine hand (especially when it comes to interspersing historical footage), creating a valuable addition to the Cinema of Never Forget.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 31, 2007
Describing what Steal a Pencil for Me is about might actually do a disservice to this affectionately observed documentary.
October 12, 2007
So many documentaries about the Holocaust have been shown before. One would think we've seen enough. Steal a Pencil for Me proves we can never learn too much.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4