Stolen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stolen Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ August 6, 2011
not the most well-directed thing, but a really interesting story. especially if you like art.
November 7, 2009
Was really expecting something great but I was just bored the entire time. The documentary just never went anywhere.
October 1, 2009
Awesome little film! Full of great art and colorful people.
½ June 7, 2009
This doc is not conclusive which is a little frustrating. It is interesting for some perfunctory art world drama and weirdos.
May 11, 2009
Interesting but kinds slow moving. Wondering how Gardner got the money.
½ January 16, 2009
I thought the doc as a whole was pretty amateurish and I was more fascinated by Harold Smith, the eye patch wearing and constantly changing face bandages art theft detective. Which is a shame since the story behind the documentary is so much more interesting.

01.16.09
11th Film of 2009
November 28, 2008
The daylight theft of 13 works of art from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston and the search for these pieces is the subject of this fascinating documentary. The film follows the investigation of the eye patch wearing stolen art detective Harold Smith. Anonymous voicemail recordings of possible leads support a colorful cast of characters including a Boston newspaper reporter, a series of conmen and art thieves, the shadow of Boston thug Whitey Bulger, an informant with a bad smoking habit and the name Turbocharger, and the long arm of the Irish Republican Army. The best performance comes, unexpectedly, from an employee of the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum when he utters the unforgettable line, "You're mine, and you'll know me all of your life." A must see if for no reason other than to see the context of that statement.
½ September 11, 2008
kinda cool doc about a subject we don't hear much about
½ September 7, 2008
Although a bit too slight, Stolen takes a fascinating true story and crafts it into a sly thriller with a nice dash of history mixed in. How easy it seems it is to steal thirteen priceless painting and how sad it is that these peice could be lost forever. This is a piece of film that sometimes takes entertainment liberties but allows for its cast of characters and story to shine through. It also leaves you wanting more from the director who could have a very interesting future ahead.
August 20, 2008
A documentary full of twists and turns that is absolutely riveting to anyone with an interest in fine art. To think that it has been almost 20 years and the art still hasn't been recovered. This is a fascinating and frustrating experience of a film.
June 24, 2008
An excellent, first-rate documentary. The narration was perfect, and the film never failed to entertain and inform.
½ March 24, 2008
This movie had potential, but fell through the cracks. To bad.
January 8, 2008
An interesting doc about the Gardener art heist. I am very sad that I was never able to see these paintings in person. I hope they find the thieves soon.
November 14, 2007
Watched this on the plane to LA. Very interesting main theme with the theft of a series of paintings from the Isabella Gardner Museum in Boston, but the sub story, with voiceovers of Isabella and her buyer (who I couldn't help thinking must have done very well out of the whole arrangement) got a bit much, and I was wishing for the remote control to fast forward through those segments by the end. The detective was a very interesting character. Would have liked to have heard more about him. Wait for the DVD and rent. You won't watch it more than once, but it's worth taking a couple hours out to watch.
September 24, 2007
Painters, clans, art lovers and a detective. Feels a little like "ocean's 11", a little like "girl with a pearl earing", only this is a documentary, not fiction
September 13, 2007
Eh, should be interesting but kind of wasn't.
½ August 15, 2007
A fairly entertaining documentary that suffers from trying to tell two stories at once. While other docs have done this well, this one feels less focused. The main story here is trying to track down stolen paintings and taking a look at the seedy world of art crime. If it had just focused on that, I think this would have been a better film. Instead there are segments of correspondence between Isabella Gardner and her art buyer. This feels like padding and should have been cut down or better focused (the point is to show that even Gardner had to smuggle some paintings). And then there are whole interviews that don't seem to belong, like the Museum employee who has an interesting adoption story. A decent documentary that needed to be better focused.
July 31, 2007
Very slow. No resolution.
June 13, 2007
An interesting documentary about the Isabella Stewart Gardner theft, so of obvious interest to anyone in the Boston area. Harold Smith, the art detective who serves as the secondary subject of the film, is as interesting as the story of the theft.
January 10, 2007
Want to see it again. I was young but I still remember the Pakistan vs Englad ...
Page 1 of 1