The Stone Killer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Stone Killer Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 26, 2015
best movie from Charles bronson
½ February 11, 2014
A shoot-em-up with a tough talking Charles Bronson, a confusing plot (something about the mafia using Vietnam vets for a hit), an assortment of character actors (Norman Fell, a young John Ritter), and some '70s grit to keep things somewhat interesting. Decent amount of comic relief, some unintentional (look out for falling bodies!).
½ September 29, 2013
Fun Charles Bronson action thriller, his 70's films were the best.
½ June 7, 2013
Good old fashioned, hard-hitting action--Charlie VS the Mafia Factory!!
April 7, 2013
Bronson and Winner team up again for this cop thriller. Detective Lou Torrey is a cross between Pope eye Doyle and Harry Callahan and takes no shit as he takes on Cosa Nostra.
½ October 7, 2012
what a cool movie! 3,5/5
July 10, 2012
Friday, January 6, 2012

(1973) The Stone Killer
ACTION

Based on a novel by John Gardner starring Charles Bronson as a Sergent going after the Italian syndicate figuring that theirs going to be a possible hit! The first hour is conventional with alot of blah blah blahing, but once the action starts, it doesn't stop and is quite unrelentless! This is one of few action films that involves several policeman, frequent shootings and an impressive car chasing a motorcyle scene which is real as one can get!

4 out of 4
½ February 29, 2012
I didn't know what the hell was going on, but I loved every second of it. This rare treat of a Charles Bronson gem is a hard one to find, hopefully it makes it's official DVD release soon. The soundtrack, pacing and action are top notch. It's one helluva ride.
December 4, 2011
I own a bootleg of this and if it ever gets an official release in Australia i will buy the original DVD.
½ August 27, 2011
Ok.. every now and then I pick a totally duff film this is one of the worst ! Only managed 45 minutes and had to turn it off can't believe Bronson agreed to "star" in this dross :-((
½ August 23, 2011
The Stone Killer completes my seeing the 6 movies that director Michael Winner did starring Charles Bronson. I think they're all great. Although the plot in this one is a little loose as a Bronson fan I think everything else is fucking right on. As the poster says he plays dirty. No he's not a dirty cop but there's a definite 70s mentality & he doesn't take any bull shit. A solid cast is also included w/ the likes of Martin Balsam, Norman Fell & Jack Colvin (Jack McGee from the Incredible Hulk). Includes a great car chase about half way through that picks up @ a great clip & concludes w/ Bronson running down his suspect...oops! As it been stated before - THIS COP PLAYS DIRTY!
October 23, 2010
Quite boring. Unoriginal, predictable, lame. Your usual gung ho vigilante-type Charles Bronson movie, complete with wooden acting by the man himself. No redeeming qualities.
Super Reviewer
April 10, 2010
bronson's been in better. it all seemed lacking in effort...
April 9, 2010
Winner is still searching for his 'Death Wish' formula he'll always be remembered for. However here, Bronson as the maverick cop doesn't quite work despite his typical meanness, and the story is very disjointed.
March 28, 2010
here's that Bronson again, in a Death Wish type cop movie as you know him. nice story and typical atmosphere
October 5, 2009
Just another crime flic in the "French Connection" style, starring Charles Bronson this time. This one does not seem to be that well known - it took ages before it was released on DVD. It is not bad at all, though. Apart from the usual action scenes including arrests, car chases, police brutality, racism and mobsters, it contains elements that one doesn't usually find in films like these: the concept of the maffia family revenge plan and the idea of using stone killers to execute the operation is new to me. And the ending is almost profound: whatever the police tries, they'll never get to the root of it: only the faces will change. Balsam's confession at the end is great: it illustrates what sort of a sanctimonious facade Roman Catholisicm was for the maffia. In a nutshell: this movie is amusing for the obvious, but also for the not so obvious reasons. A must see for fans of this genre.
August 29, 2009
Tough cop Bronson takes on the Mafia and a private mercenary army in this increasingly non-sensical thriller. It does have its moments, but it's third act really lets the rest of the film down!
Page 1 of 1