Storie di Ordinaria Follia (Tales of Ordinary Madness) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Storie di Ordinaria Follia (Tales of Ordinary Madness) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 2, 2015
A veritable cinema of 70's with all the elements: harshness, exploitation, invectives etc.
April 12, 2015
This has got to be one of the most under-rated character studies of all time. Ben Gazzara is terrific as an alcoholic poet drinkinghimself into one stupor after another, and falling in love along the way. Based on material written by Charles Bukowski, this is an all-but-forgotten gem.
November 3, 2012
I've got to say that "Barfly" is my best. Storie di ordinaria follia is pretty good but the fans of Bukowski should try "Barfly" with Mickey Rourke first...
July 16, 2012
I read the book, and this just seemed like artsy soft porn in comparison. Weird acting, and unmotivated plotlines created by cramming a 300 plus page book into an hour and a half. It had moments...but I was really looking for something else here....Gotta go watch Barfly again, I think!
½ May 13, 2012
Unusual movie. Ok, but not great.
½ March 12, 2012
Denise Gentile tries her best to save the picture but can't. The writing is too loose and the other acting is credible only in fits and spurts.
½ January 27, 2012
What is this nonsense? Some weird portrail in a 1980s style romance film! No humanistic element to the actor
October 28, 2011
I've got to say that "Barfly" is my best. Storie di ordinaria follia is pretty good but the fans of Bukowski should try "Barfly" with Mickey Rourke first...
½ May 10, 2011
The best screen incarnation of Bukowski's work. The film to watch if you have a burning desire to see both Ornella Muti and Susan Tyrell naked.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2011
Returning to Los Angeles by bus after his wallet was stolen after having passed out following a performance, poet Charles Serking(Ben Gazzara) finds his ex-wife and landlord Vicky(Tanya Lopert) wanting the last two months' rent. That does not stop him from chasing after Vera(Susan Tyrrell) which later causes him to spend a night in jail, although not for the reason you are thinking. And then there is Cass(Ornella Muti) who he meets in a bar where she does something very painful looking with an oversized safety pin.

Mind the generalizing, but it seems like whenever a European film director comes to the United States for the first time, he skips Disneyland and heads straight for skid row.(See, people take the bus in Los Angeles. And hey! Is that a Fotomat?) I'm not complaining, mind you, as I actually think it's cool since apparently we are too obsessed in this country with upward mobility to care much about those who have fallen through the cracks. This might also explain why only European directors have adapted the works of Charles Bukowski. This one is from "Erections, Ejaculations, Exhibitions, and Other Tales of Ordinary Madness." And Marco Ferreri has nailed it with the help of a searing performance from Ben Gazzara, informing the life of an addict with levels of profound masochism. Only such pain could create Serking's powerful art but long can it truly last?
January 9, 2011
its no barfly. if it wasnt for the narrative and references to Bukowski's work it would be much duller.
½ January 3, 2011
Unusual movie. Ok, but not great.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
May 20, 2010
Lecherous, alcoholic street poet "Charles Serking" (pseudonym for Charles Bukowski) falls in love with a suicidal prostitute. Partly successful, with some of the strangest sex scenes you'll ever see. Boozy as hell; plays out like a string of half-remembered and misremembered incidents from a yearlong drinking binge. For some reason this movie is listed on Flixter twice.
April 23, 2010
Bukowski unfiltered, polluted and unrefined, poetic madness intact, Ben Gazzara trying to re-enter the womb with that elegant Gazzara style, in a film that is simultaneously droll and beautiful, hurting and peculiar.
Super Reviewer
½ March 30, 2010
"Style is the answer to everything...To do a dangerous thing with style is what I call art." Bukowski had style. Ferreri has style. This film is an achingly human, drunken odessey inspired by the writings of Bukowski. This is not an adaptation, but captures the essence and complements his works. It shares carnality, a gritty realism, the pain and desperation of being human. It's provocative. It's uncomfortable. It's the underbelly and grimness of life that too often goes unrecognized. Or if acknowledged, you numb it with alcohol; you engage in self-destructive behaviours; you mask it with eroticism; you become a whore of an angel; you write. Whether these actions are to escape yourself or to regain feeling, it is human ~ it is pain ~ it's art if done with style ~ and, it's got soul.
½ March 20, 2010
un excelente retrato del escritor por excelencia undergraund.
½ December 29, 2009
Ben Gazzara plays a sex-addicted, alcoholic, poet ala Charles Bukowski and does a damn good job of it in Marco Ferreri's beautifully shot, drunken, dirty, ambling and nasty trip into Bukowski's world.

There's no real plot to speak of; just a few vaguely constructed subplots shoved together into a melange of subdued insanity. Most notable is the story of Chuck's brief relationship with the masochistic prostitute, Cass played by the stunningly gorgeous Ornella Muti. Some of the scenes with her and Gazzara early on in the film are just so damn unbelievably sexy in an elegantly sordid sort of way...brilliant.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2009
Ah,bliss,carefree honey-pie...no country for drunken horses,or an effective title for the parody of affairs by a master of literature.Ferreri justifies Bukowski in the role of Gazzara,and although not his premier erotic film,Marco assures us we are not in desperation,so viva la vita,eh?
September 22, 2008
ordinary madness is the most misunderstood kind there is.
Page 1 of 2