Stories We Tell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Jonathan Kiefer
Sacramento News & Review
December 31, 2013
It's the best and most generous creative thing Polley's ever done, not least because she's the only person in the world who could have done it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 8, 2013
The circle of family and friends in this movie, and their secrets, is the story. It is about them, not us. Not quite universal in its appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
December 5, 2013
It took a lot of bravery and candor to put this story out there in any form, and for that, [Sarah] Polley deserves all our thanks and respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Travis Hopson
Examiner.com
October 5, 2013
To her credit, Polley never attempts to deflect the painful truths that she unearths, leaving them raw and open for us to experience right along with her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 3, 2013
This is a hard-to-classify and very personal doco, a study of the stories families tell each other and the stories we tell ourselves, regardless of whether either are in any way 'true'.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
September 29, 2013
Canadian actress/director Sarah Polley (Away from Her; Take This Waltz) presents an absorbing family history that is so ingeniously mounted it doubles as a wry commentary on the documentary form, examining our willingness to believe what we see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
September 26, 2013
Just when you think you know where it's heading and what it's emphasising... the film unexpectedly changes direction. It's so beautifully done.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
September 25, 2013
An extraordinary work that is both an intellectual examination into the nature of how cinema represents reality as well as a deeply moving personal project.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 24, 2013
There are many moments when I was moved to tears - when raw truths involving emotions, are delivered by family members in spontaneous, unrehearsed fashion. Polley has crafted a rare jewel of a film that reveals much about her own family
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
September 9, 2013
What is not in doubt is the raw emotion in this work - from Polley quivering with nervous energy as she watches her father read some of the more revelatory pieces of script - to the impact airing the family's dirty linen in public has on her siblings.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
July 23, 2013
Fascinating personal documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
July 22, 2013
Slowly but surely Polley pieces together her own family's history to create a kind of cinematic narrative - complete with a twist straight from a soap opera.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
July 19, 2013
An unconventional but wonderfully assembled exploration of how -- and why -- we tell stories, all wrapped in a closely guarded family secret.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Eric D. Snider
About.com
July 12, 2013
Polley is savvy, using her talent as a director -- as a storyteller -- to give it universal appeal even though it's a very specific account.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture
July 8, 2013
Perhaps the most organic, transformative meeting of form and function I've seen this year.
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
July 7, 2013
Stories We Tell is cinema cutting to the profound truth of why we use narrative to make sense of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
July 3, 2013
The movie isn't really about the Polley family: It's about memory, and loss, and forgiveness, and, through it all, hope. It'll knock you over.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 1, 2013
What emerges is a fascinating and illuminating story, one that runs the gamut from intense joy to deep sadness and features a couple of surprising twists that take proceedings off in strange and unusual directions.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John Hanlon
John Hanlon Reviews
June 30, 2013
An honest and authentic documentary that powerfully explores the filmmaker's own family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.0/5
Mark Kermode
Observer (UK)
June 30, 2013
Polley's portrait of modern family life is a playfully profound discussion of narrative forms - the way in which we each construct our own reality through stories, part truth, part invention.
Page 2 of 7