Stories We Tell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
March 21, 2014
What "Stories We Tell" has to offer viewers above all else, is the lesson and harsh fact that no matter how closely we hold someone in our hearts, we never really know them one hundred percent.
Matt Glasby
March 6, 2014
The Polleys are so charming and down-to-earth, and their pain so tangible, it's an absolute heart-breaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Corey Atad
Movie Mezzanine
March 2, 2014
What Polley unearths is a well of emotion and one of the most powerful new films I've seen in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Rima Sabina Aouf
Concrete Playground
February 7, 2014
Simply the most enthralling, idiosyncratic and entertaining family memoir around.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Dan Jardine
February 1, 2014
Post-post-modern. Yeah, that's right, the negation of the negation.
Full Review | Original Score: 83/100
Kam Williams
Baret News
January 26, 2014
Sarah Polley digs and digs and discovers some shocking skeletons in her own family's closet.
| Original Score: 4/4
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
December 31, 2013
Deeply affectionate and sometimes very moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Katherine Monk
December 31, 2013
Sarah Polley doesn't just understand this slippery sense of personal truth, she opens a throbbing vein of her own history in the stunning new documentary Stories We Tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
December 31, 2013
If a personal memoir film by a beautiful, successful young woman from a nice Toronto family sounds to you like it can only be an excuse for self-absorbed navel-gazing, well, you must not have seen a Sarah Polley movie yet.
Marc Mohan
December 31, 2013
When a film like Stories We Tell comes along, you're reminded how powerful and universal even the most intimate and individual lives can be when captured with intelligence and perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Mark Adams
Screen International
December 31, 2013
Tender, thoughtful and complex.
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
December 31, 2013
Stories We Tell is one of those movies you watch on a screen and replay in your head for days, moving between its many levels of inquiry and touched, always, by Polley's compassion toward her relatives in particular and people in general.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Chris Knight
National Post
December 31, 2013
One of the many amazing things about this personal documentary by Toronto actor and filmmaker Sarah Polley is how horribly wrong it could have gone -- but didn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
December 31, 2013
Sarah Polley's remarkable Stories We Tell transcends every cliche in this confessional/investigatory genre, and it's one of the year's highlights.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Kate Erbland
Film School Rejects
December 31, 2013
Polley's ability to uncover truth and to present it for public consumption is bold and brave, and bodes well for her (hopefully) continued doc career.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Sophie Mayer
Sight and Sound
December 31, 2013
Stories We Tell, uniquely, reveals its process as if we are thinking, sifting and selecting along with the filmmaker.
Kevin Harley
Total Film
December 31, 2013
First it's a family-tree detective story, then a playful meta-movie, then a maternal melodrama. and along the way, it weaves strong feelings into a dissection of storytelling and truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Perry Seibert
TV Guide
December 31, 2013
With Away From Her and Take This Waltz, actress Sarah Polley became one of the freshest directorial voices of her generation. Stories We Tell doesn't just solidify this assertion, it makes you reappraise how personal those first two films are for her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Jonathan Kiefer
Sacramento News & Review
December 31, 2013
It's the best and most generous creative thing Polley's ever done, not least because she's the only person in the world who could have done it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 8, 2013
The circle of family and friends in this movie, and their secrets, is the story. It is about them, not us. Not quite universal in its appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Page 1 of 7