Stories We Tell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 1 of 7
July 12, 2017
Sarah Polley continues to become one of the most innovative and inventive directors working today and its proved by what she spills out on the silver screen in her newest endeavor Stories We Tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 23, 2017
The film is, ultimately, a touching portrait of family, memory and shared history that keeps its audience hooked from the first moment, and doesn't let up until the final frame.
March 21, 2014
What "Stories We Tell" has to offer viewers above all else, is the lesson and harsh fact that no matter how closely we hold someone in our hearts, we never really know them one hundred percent.
March 6, 2014
The Polleys are so charming and down-to-earth, and their pain so tangible, it's an absolute heart-breaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 2, 2014
What Polley unearths is a well of emotion and one of the most powerful new films I've seen in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
February 7, 2014
Simply the most enthralling, idiosyncratic and entertaining family memoir around.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 1, 2014
Post-post-modern. Yeah, that's right, the negation of the negation.
Full Review | Original Score: 83/100
January 26, 2014
Sarah Polley digs and digs and discovers some shocking skeletons in her own family's closet.
| Original Score: 4/4
December 31, 2013
Deeply affectionate and sometimes very moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 31, 2013
Sarah Polley doesn't just understand this slippery sense of personal truth, she opens a throbbing vein of her own history in the stunning new documentary Stories We Tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 31, 2013
If a personal memoir film by a beautiful, successful young woman from a nice Toronto family sounds to you like it can only be an excuse for self-absorbed navel-gazing, well, you must not have seen a Sarah Polley movie yet.
December 31, 2013
When a film like Stories We Tell comes along, you're reminded how powerful and universal even the most intimate and individual lives can be when captured with intelligence and perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 31, 2013
Tender, thoughtful and complex.
December 31, 2013
Stories We Tell is one of those movies you watch on a screen and replay in your head for days, moving between its many levels of inquiry and touched, always, by Polley's compassion toward her relatives in particular and people in general.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 31, 2013
One of the many amazing things about this personal documentary by Toronto actor and filmmaker Sarah Polley is how horribly wrong it could have gone -- but didn't.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
December 31, 2013
Sarah Polley's remarkable Stories We Tell transcends every cliche in this confessional/investigatory genre, and it's one of the year's highlights.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 31, 2013
Polley's ability to uncover truth and to present it for public consumption is bold and brave, and bodes well for her (hopefully) continued doc career.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 31, 2013
Stories We Tell, uniquely, reveals its process as if we are thinking, sifting and selecting along with the filmmaker.
December 31, 2013
First it's a family-tree detective story, then a playful meta-movie, then a maternal melodrama. and along the way, it weaves strong feelings into a dissection of storytelling and truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 31, 2013
With Away From Her and Take This Waltz, actress Sarah Polley became one of the freshest directorial voices of her generation. Stories We Tell doesn't just solidify this assertion, it makes you reappraise how personal those first two films are for her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 7