Stories We Tell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 1 of 7
June 27, 2013
Polley ... smilingly tells us that a story like hers can never truly be tied down, even as she screws every last piece into place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 10, 2013
Polley is a good filmmaker but in the end, "Stories We Tell" feels less like a film than a family album - and one best appreciated, not by us, but by the Polleys still to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 31, 2013
he opposite of a courageous piece of work, Stories We Tell goes out of its way to protect every single person it touches.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
April 28, 2015
What began as a searching personal journey ends as narcissistic family therapy masturbation.
May 24, 2013
Sarah might have wrapped up this documentary after her parentage is revealed about 70 minutes in, yet it continues for another 50 as she ruminates over the tale,... her engrossing personal story gradually devolving into an exercise in self-regard.
June 28, 2013
Polley is working in the tradition of Orson Welles, but her trickery can be exasperating; it also neutralises many of the emotional revelations.
October 12, 2012
The film is oscillating from intriguing to dull, revealing to repetitious, frank to disingenuous, and moving to manipulative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 23, 2017
The film is, ultimately, a touching portrait of family, memory and shared history that keeps its audience hooked from the first moment, and doesn't let up until the final frame.
July 12, 2017
Sarah Polley continues to become one of the most innovative and inventive directors working today and its proved by what she spills out on the silver screen in her newest endeavor Stories We Tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 2, 2014
What Polley unearths is a well of emotion and one of the most powerful new films I've seen in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
October 5, 2013
To her credit, Polley never attempts to deflect the painful truths that she unearths, leaving them raw and open for us to experience right along with her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 17, 2013
Polley mines her own life to strip naked the essence of storytelling, and what it is about folklore that makes it so essential in shaping our perceptions about who we are and where we come from.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 3, 2013
The movie isn't really about the Polley family: It's about memory, and loss, and forgiveness, and, through it all, hope. It'll knock you over.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 23, 2013
Stories told again and again have a way of neatening things up. Stories have a way of ironing out the wrinkles. Polley lets the wrinkles remain.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 16, 2013
Stories We Tell starts out as a simple investigation into the life of a mother that director Sarah Polley barely knew and slowly turns into a documentary that is as good as any movie you will see this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
March 18, 2013
Sarah Polley is much more interested in the malleability of memory and the consequential refractions felt throughout her kin rather than telling a linear narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 30, 2013
An honest and authentic documentary that powerfully explores the filmmaker's own family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.0/5
June 24, 2013
The films greatest achievement is in how deeply mesmerising one woman's story can be, regardless of whether she's famous or not.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 7, 2013
Stories We Tell is cinema cutting to the profound truth of why we use narrative to make sense of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 30, 2013
A decent piece of work, but too fussy for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 7