Arrival Reviews

Page 1 of 20
November 14, 2019
Arrival is astonishing, thought-provoking filmmaking with a career-defining role for [Amy] Adams.
October 31, 2019
Cerebral and intelligent, Arrival leads one to a fascination with the art of communication and the "what if" of possibility and the unknown.
October 21, 2019
The single most compelling and notable aspect of the film is the unwavering intelligence and insight, and the nerviness and instinct of the female lead character.
October 3, 2019
Using language and communication as a fertile metaphor, Denis Villeneuve situates complex ideas into streamlined composition with Arrival, a poetic examination of extraterrestrial contact.
September 5, 2019
Director Denis Villeneuve does a very good job keeping the pace going throughout Arrival.
August 20, 2019
Implausibilities aside, the development of the bulk of the plot is an exciting study of the language of extraterrestrial symbols that they draw with their squid ink from outer space. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 19, 2019
A film that uses an alien encounter on earth to probe deeper questions about faith, time, suffering, and love.
August 13, 2019
...a movie that soars into the deep space of emotion, with ingenious visuals and sound design that explore the very nature of communication, and cinema.
August 7, 2019
Arrival will challenge us to think and to question. And while we come away with answers, we also experience the stunning power of great filmmaking, great writing, and a great story.
June 25, 2019
Arrival is a delicate, thoughtful meditation on nuanced subjects that aren't even hinted at in the trailers. Sloppy though it may be, the sum of its parts is emotionally staggering.
May 24, 2019
Arrival is the smart science fiction movie that leaves you stunned and wondering if the sleight of hand lives up to the punchline.
May 20, 2019
An intelligent and thought-provoking science fiction drama boasting a smart screenplay, beautiful visuals, a strong musical soundtrack and uniformly tremendous performances.
April 19, 2019
I like it when movies challenge us - we don't quite have enough of that these days.
April 16, 2019
In its combination of big themes, globe-spanning sci-fi and intimate character moments, Arrival feels like it's what Interstellar wanted to be.
April 8, 2019
Arrival is one of those films I'll always remember fondly, it was still professionally made and really well told, acted and shot. A perfect sci-fi film.
April 2, 2019
I like that it really goes for it and has bold ideas.
March 30, 2019
Villeneuve shoots for the stars and falls short, but ARRIVAL's slow-burning intensity and Adams' leading performance are enough to invade our thoughts.
March 18, 2019
Depending on which yardstick you want to use, Arrival qualifies as Villeneuve's biggest success to date.
February 14, 2019
[Arrival] is a thoughtful and sophisticated take on first contact, a beautifully-made film with dynamite performances that manages to explore some of the more complex questions that might be raised by our species' first close encounter.
January 23, 2019
An enlightening tale about the human mind, communication and perception, Arrival is thoughtful and thought-provoking.
Page 1 of 20