Strange Brew - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Strange Brew Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Drew McWeeny
HitFix
August 17, 2016
Overall, I'm not sure anyone picking up Strange Brew cold right now without any prior exposure to the characters would even be able to tell what they're looking at. I still find it entertaining, and I love Rick Moranis in the film in particular.
Rob Vaux
Mania.com
August 30, 2013
Frankly, I was sold the moment the MGM lion gave out an inebriated belch.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
April 2, 2010
Their take on the Bard is as imaginative as any other cinematic adaptation, plus a good deal funnier

TV Guide
May 13, 2008
No, there's nothing intelligent here -- just a couple of likable fellows trying to stop mad Brewmeister Smith (Max von Sydow) from gaining control of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Douglas Pratt
DVDLaser
May 13, 2008
The film celebrates stupidity and would likely have caused an international incident if Canadians weren't so nice, but it essentially lives up to its premise, once in a while coming up with a gag that is halfway funny.
Brad Laidman
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
There's tons of weird stuff here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eric Melin
Lawrence.com
March 5, 2005
"Hamlet" done by Canadian drunks! Absolute genius!
| Original Score: 5/5
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
March 18, 2004
Just odd enough to skate by; you remember the singular tone of the film long after the gags have faded.
| Original Score: 3/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 15, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
October 12, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Widgett Walls
Needcoffee.com
May 27, 2003
Brilliant. Stupid...but brilliant.
| Original Score: 4/5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
March 10, 2003
[A] funny movie about a couple of Canadians who sit around and drink a lot.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
August 30, 2002
I laughed so hard the bullet flew out of my nose.
| Original Score: 4/5
John Venable
Supercala.com
August 8, 2002
One of the greatest beer movies of all time!
| Original Score: 4/5
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
July 25, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
Oz
eFilmCritic.com
January 1, 2000
It's funnier than most of ths films Hollywood passes off as humor ten years later.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Steve Crum
Video-Reviewmaster.com
February 22, 2008
Clunky booze comedy based on popular Canadian air heads.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
February 9, 2006
The plotline (derived from Hamlet) soon goes flat.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
August 30, 2004
The price of a ticket could buy enough beer for an experience at least as memorable as this one.
| Original Score: 2/5
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
January 23, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2