Strange Brew - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Strange Brew Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
February 9, 2006
The plotline (derived from Hamlet) soon goes flat.
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
January 23, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
Steve Crum
February 22, 2008
Clunky booze comedy based on popular Canadian air heads.
| Original Score: 2/5
Ryan Cracknell
Apollo Guide
February 13, 2001
When the brothers aren't onscreen, you might consider relieving yourself of the beverages you consumed earlier in the movie.
| Original Score: 68/100
Kevin Smokler
October 29, 2002
Strange Brew, incidental and faintly funny as it may be, was the start of a legacy much longer and significant than itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
August 30, 2004
The price of a ticket could buy enough beer for an experience at least as memorable as this one.
| Original Score: 2/5
Drew McWeeny
August 17, 2016
Overall, I'm not sure anyone picking up Strange Brew cold right now without any prior exposure to the characters would even be able to tell what they're looking at. I still find it entertaining, and I love Rick Moranis in the film in particular.
Fernando F. Croce
April 2, 2010
Their take on the Bard is as imaginative as any other cinematic adaptation, plus a good deal funnier
Scott Weinberg
July 25, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
Rob Vaux
August 30, 2013
Frankly, I was sold the moment the MGM lion gave out an inebriated belch.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Eric Melin
March 5, 2005
"Hamlet" done by Canadian drunks! Absolute genius!
| Original Score: 5/5
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
August 30, 2002
I laughed so hard the bullet flew out of my nose.
| Original Score: 4/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 15, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
John Venable
August 8, 2002
One of the greatest beer movies of all time!
| Original Score: 4/5
Douglas Pratt
May 13, 2008
The film celebrates stupidity and would likely have caused an international incident if Canadians weren't so nice, but it essentially lives up to its premise, once in a while coming up with a gag that is halfway funny.
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
March 18, 2004
Just odd enough to skate by; you remember the singular tone of the film long after the gags have faded.
| Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
It's funnier than most of ths films Hollywood passes off as humor ten years later.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Widgett Walls
May 27, 2003
Brilliant. Stupid...but brilliant.
| Original Score: 4/5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
March 10, 2003
[A] funny movie about a couple of Canadians who sit around and drink a lot.
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
October 12, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2