A Stranger Among Us - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

A Stranger Among Us Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 3, 2014
A Stranger Among Us is offered primarily as a Melanie Griffith star vehicle. That's too bad. It's a story with a hopeful and well-meaning message.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2014
Released in British cinemas as Close to Eden, this is a flop under any name.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 3, 2014
A Stranger Among Us is an unwieldy yarn that plays passion against faith and tradition in a most unconvincing manner.
August 2, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
If there has ever been a crime, in all the history of crime movies, that has a lamer solution than this one, I cannot remember it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 27, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 3, 2014
If I were a rich man, I wouldn't have had to see A Stranger Among Us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 21, 2008
Plot is overloaded with hard-to-take factors.
July 16, 2012
Stuck with a permanently detached lead actress who juggles snappy cop jargon and sex appeal with all the concentration of pothead.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 27, 2003
| Original Score: 2/5
May 3, 2014
There's apparently something about Hasidic Jews that makes normally talented and reasonable filmmakers turn otherwise straightforward thrillers into harebrained hootfests.
June 24, 2006
All too obviously influenced by Witness, the film fails on all counts.
May 24, 2011
I was deeply disappointed that the film ended up seeming too much like a promo for the conservative religion it espoused.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
Oy vey.
May 12, 2001
Lumet's no-bull New York sensibility clashes repeatedly with Avrech's romance-novel mawkishness.
February 3, 2016
A Stranger Among Us is rife with laughably heavy-handed instances of plot and character development...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
The worst insult to the viewer's audience is the terrible miscasting of Melanie Griffith.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 29, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
A preposterous cop movie that meets a romanticized portrait of the Hasidic community.
January 1, 2000
Though this movie is indefensible in terms of virtually any critical standard I can call to mind, I wouldn't have wanted to miss a single second of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 2