Striking Distance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Striking Distance Reviews

Page 2 of 26
July 25, 2013
Just saw this film On Demand, and don't understand the lack of critical praise for this picture. Across the board the writing directing casting acting cinematography are all very good. Taught story telling, action sequences, romance, surprise twists, clever cutaways, all made it a great ride for me. JD
½ June 17, 2013
this is a normal action flick.bruce willis and sarah jessica parker acting is good.its start is good but after some time you realize that it is not so good.
June 16, 2013
this movie is a nice thriller.bruce willis is good and also sarah parker.the story is about a cop tom hardy who comes from a police family fights against his uncle after the murder of his father because he thinks that a cop killed his father.
April 30, 2013
Not much of a film, and the plot twist is super obvious, but the use of "LIL' RED RIDING HOOD" by Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs was pretty creepy! As was the remote control police car! Other than that... meh.
March 30, 2013
my favorite bruce willis movie
March 19, 2013
Este es un filme de acción de Bruce Willis que no tuvo buena acogida por la crítica. Yo honestamente no entiendo que no les gustó. Yo tuve la suerte de verla en cine y me gustó mucho. Es un filme donde Bruce Willis comparte créditos con una Sarah Jessica Parker varios años antes de que ella se hiciera famosa por su serie de TV "The Sex and the City". Además de que en el elenco se cuenta con sólidos actores como Dennis Farina, Tom Sizemore y una breve pero vital participación de John Mahoney (Fraser). Me gusta que presenta una interesante película de policías, y muta a la patrulla del río que es un aspecto de la polícia poco (si no es que nunca) presentado antes o después de este filme. Yo honestamente cada vez que puedo si la logro pescar en cable, la vuelvo a ver. Altamente recomendada.
½ March 2, 2013
I like Bruce so this was surprising since O hadn't heard of it. It was decent. Sort of like Die Hard but with thriller mixed in.
December 7, 2012
Would like to see at some stage.
December 3, 2012
worth a shot. I don't know that I'll believe Sarah as a officer but sure why not.
½ November 20, 2012
It's an enjoyably brisk movie spectacle, much of which takes place in and around Pittsburgh, on the Allegheny, Ohio and Monongahela Rivers. There be twists aplenty, mateys (though it's not hard to guess the final reveals), as well as some entertainingly overblown action. The serial killings, to no one's surprise, involve Hardy much more intimately than he originally guesses. Though the film's initial chase is dimly motivated, most of the action sequences are very well staged, particularly those on Pittsburgh's rivers. They are the film's true subject. Despite the fact that Hardy is talked about as a terminal drunk, Mr. Willis looks very fit in an extremely energetic performance. Sarah Jessica Parker plays his diving partner in the river-rescue squad. Dennis Farina is Hardy's uncle, who becomes chief of homicide after Hardy's father (John Mahoney) is murdered. More you need not know. A troubled production (re-shoots, release-date postponements) that turned out to be surprisingly watchable.

VERDICT: "High-Quality Stuff" - [Positive Reaction] This is a rating to a movie I view as very entertaining and well made, and definitely worth paying the full price at a theatre to see or own on DVD. It is not perfect, but it is definitely excellent. (Films that are rated 3.5 or 4 stars)
November 10, 2012
its a great movie id see it again
½ October 26, 2012
"Loyalty above all else...except honor".

A very formulaic, but watchable and somewhat enjoyable action thriller. Striking Distance is a tense, gripping and actually quite a suspenseful endeaver. A film that has some trouble out of the gate, but gathers itself and regains composure enough to be a rather gripping film. Its doesnt get better than cop vs. cop in this tension packed mystery police thriller. Director Rowdy Herrington (Gladiator, Road House) helmed a solid film here, flawwed, but a solid film nonetheless.
Bruce Willis and Sarah Jessica Parker sizzle together on screen, both do a good job throughout. Striking Distance is a decent 90's film, you will know what your getting yourself into.
½ October 21, 2012
Everything about the film is generic. The actors are miscast and the story is laughable from start to finish. Gobble, gobble!
September 24, 2012
Not Bruce willis's best movie ever yet a decent mystery who done it, csi kind of thriller
September 2, 2012
Sarah seems out of place, otherwise a really good fim.
½ July 23, 2012
It's a good movie. Bruce Willis is convincing!
July 16, 2012
Regarder le film de 2e partie de soiree sur TF1 n'a pas du m'arriver souvent, on ne m'y reprendra plus. Hormis la fin narnaresque avec un mechant qui refuse de mourir et qui vocifere a tout-va, un navet policier avec 2 de tension.
½ July 15, 2012
Okay BW film, but nothing too special.
½ June 18, 2012
80s action, a little chessy but some good one liners. I got a kick out of Parker.
½ June 11, 2012
A decent thriller, nothing super special about it, but the ending was a trip, but gets a bit far fetched.
Page 2 of 26