Stuart Saves His Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart Saves His Family Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
February 26, 2015
Wisely, "Stuart Saves His Family" attempts something tougher than the usual "SNL" movie, painting a fully fleshed-out portrait of seriocomic misery. In a subgenre littered with films worth forgetting, here is one that's good enough and smart enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
May 14, 2008
It isn't good enough, it isn't smart enough, and, doggone it, most people won't like Stuart Saves His Family.

TV Guide
May 14, 2008
Often funny, darker than you'd expect, and firmly grounded in Franken's extensive experience of the 12-Step worldview.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
May 14, 2008
Even if you find Franken hard to bear, as I do, the movie's take on how he functions in the world is both authoritative and compelling, and the movie steadily grows in stature.

Film4
May 14, 2008
Played unsuccessfully for laughs, it is ploddingly directed. And proudly proclaimed as a Ramis film. After this he should change his name or profession.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
JoBlo
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
June 24, 2006
I prepared myself for yet another "one joke" Saturday Night Live movie here, but what I got was an enjoyable little film that actually touched upon some interesting issues...
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Those familiar with Alcoholics Anonymous' 12-step recovery programme may bond in sympathy. The sentimentality, however, doesn't play.
Luke Y. Thompson
New Times
March 9, 2005
Not as bad as you'd expect
| Original Score: 3/5
Martin Scribbs
Low IQ Canadian
July 5, 2004
I forgive you, Al Franken. You were young and needed the money.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 20, 2003
The plotting is surprisingly banal, involving even talk of a property easement and turning Stuart into the executor of a relative's estate. And the relatives' problems are taken semi-seriously, which is more than this lightweight film can handle.
| Original Score: 2/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
January 8, 2003
There can be no excuse.
| Original Score: 0/5
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
July 26, 2002
Though it misfires, this spoof of recovery programs should be noted for its sincerity.
| Original Score: 2/5
Scott Weinberg
Apollo Guide
June 19, 2001
Better than most SNL flotsam, but surely that's not saying much.
| Original Score: 67/100
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Los Angeles Times
February 13, 2001
It was much funnier when we didn't see Stuart's family. And, if we have to see them, it would have been much funnier if they were strait-laced '50s sitcom types.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
Stretched out to an agonizing ninety-seven minutes, Stuart goes from being passably amusing to tedious to virtually unwatchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I not only enjoyed Stuart Smalley, doggone it, I liked him, and that attitude of gratitude ain't just a platitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Hal Hinson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Stuart is a disarming figure -- likable in small doses, but fragile and not particularly adaptable.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Subtly riotous.
Chris Hicks
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
Director Harold Ramis and Franken, who wrote the script, do manage to give Stuart some dimension, however, and though he still seems like a skit (and shtick) character in places, he is also quite affecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
All in all, it's a misfire -- but a misfire that's more interesting than a lot of successes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 2