Stuart Saves His Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart Saves His Family Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 26, 2015
Wisely, "Stuart Saves His Family" attempts something tougher than the usual "SNL" movie, painting a fully fleshed-out portrait of seriocomic misery. In a subgenre littered with films worth forgetting, here is one that's good enough and smart enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 14, 2008
Often funny, darker than you'd expect, and firmly grounded in Franken's extensive experience of the 12-Step worldview.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 14, 2008
Even if you find Franken hard to bear, as I do, the movie's take on how he functions in the world is both authoritative and compelling, and the movie steadily grows in stature.
June 24, 2006
I prepared myself for yet another "one joke" Saturday Night Live movie here, but what I got was an enjoyable little film that actually touched upon some interesting issues...
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 9, 2005
Not as bad as you'd expect
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
I not only enjoyed Stuart Smalley, doggone it, I liked him, and that attitude of gratitude ain't just a platitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Subtly riotous.
January 1, 2000
Director Harold Ramis and Franken, who wrote the script, do manage to give Stuart some dimension, however, and though he still seems like a skit (and shtick) character in places, he is also quite affecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 14, 2008
It isn't good enough, it isn't smart enough, and, doggone it, most people won't like Stuart Saves His Family.
May 14, 2008
Played unsuccessfully for laughs, it is ploddingly directed. And proudly proclaimed as a Ramis film. After this he should change his name or profession.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Those familiar with Alcoholics Anonymous' 12-step recovery programme may bond in sympathy. The sentimentality, however, doesn't play.
October 9, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
July 19, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 5, 2004
I forgive you, Al Franken. You were young and needed the money.
March 27, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
May 20, 2003
The plotting is surprisingly banal, involving even talk of a property easement and turning Stuart into the executor of a relative's estate. And the relatives' problems are taken semi-seriously, which is more than this lightweight film can handle.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 8, 2003
There can be no excuse.
| Original Score: 0/5
July 26, 2002
Though it misfires, this spoof of recovery programs should be noted for its sincerity.
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2