Stuart Saves His Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart Saves His Family Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 1, 2000
Stretched out to an agonizing ninety-seven minutes, Stuart goes from being passably amusing to tedious to virtually unwatchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 19, 2001
Better than most SNL flotsam, but surely that's not saying much.
Read More | Original Score: 67/100
July 26, 2002
Though it misfires, this spoof of recovery programs should be noted for its sincerity.
| Original Score: 2/5
March 27, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
All in all, it's a misfire -- but a misfire that's more interesting than a lot of successes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 9, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
July 5, 2004
I forgive you, Al Franken. You were young and needed the money.
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 8, 2003
There can be no excuse.
| Original Score: 0/5
January 1, 2000
Stuart is a disarming figure -- likable in small doses, but fragile and not particularly adaptable.
February 13, 2001
It was much funnier when we didn't see Stuart's family. And, if we have to see them, it would have been much funnier if they were strait-laced '50s sitcom types.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Big mistake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
May 20, 2003
The plotting is surprisingly banal, involving even talk of a property easement and turning Stuart into the executor of a relative's estate. And the relatives' problems are taken semi-seriously, which is more than this lightweight film can handle.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 19, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 14, 2008
It isn't good enough, it isn't smart enough, and, doggone it, most people won't like Stuart Saves His Family.
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Those familiar with Alcoholics Anonymous' 12-step recovery programme may bond in sympathy. The sentimentality, however, doesn't play.
May 14, 2008
Played unsuccessfully for laughs, it is ploddingly directed. And proudly proclaimed as a Ramis film. After this he should change his name or profession.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
January 1, 2000
I not only enjoyed Stuart Smalley, doggone it, I liked him, and that attitude of gratitude ain't just a platitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2