Stuart Saves His Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart Saves His Family Reviews

September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 14, 2008
It isn't good enough, it isn't smart enough, and, doggone it, most people won't like Stuart Saves His Family.
May 14, 2008
Even if you find Franken hard to bear, as I do, the movie's take on how he functions in the world is both authoritative and compelling, and the movie steadily grows in stature.
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Those familiar with Alcoholics Anonymous' 12-step recovery programme may bond in sympathy. The sentimentality, however, doesn't play.
May 20, 2003
The plotting is surprisingly banal, involving even talk of a property easement and turning Stuart into the executor of a relative's estate. And the relatives' problems are taken semi-seriously, which is more than this lightweight film can handle.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 13, 2001
It was much funnier when we didn't see Stuart's family. And, if we have to see them, it would have been much funnier if they were strait-laced '50s sitcom types.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
All in all, it's a misfire -- but a misfire that's more interesting than a lot of successes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
I not only enjoyed Stuart Smalley, doggone it, I liked him, and that attitude of gratitude ain't just a platitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Subtly riotous.
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Stuart is a disarming figure -- likable in small doses, but fragile and not particularly adaptable.
January 1, 2000
Stretched out to an agonizing ninety-seven minutes, Stuart goes from being passably amusing to tedious to virtually unwatchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4