Sucker Punch - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sucker Punch Reviews

Page 1 of 643
November 18, 2016
Extended cut: more empty bombast, the same confused narrative, with a thicker coat of sleaze.

Theatrical cut: Visually, this movie is a vast collection of fantasy/sci-fi/cinematic/video game archetypes and references thrown together into a blender, with an almost active contempt for internal consistency. How else do you explain pitting sexy actresses in Sailor Moon-type costumes, and armed with machine guns against zombie clockwork German WWI soldiers AND orcs AND dragons AND robots? And for good measure, add mental institution/women in prison cliches AND burlesque costumes. Some credit must be given for sheer bravado here. And yet the combination and vertiginous piling of images simply fosters boredom.

Narratively, the filmmakers would like the audience to believe that the movie is like a violent version of Baz Luhrmann's Moulin Rouge. But what actually is on screen is a collection of scenes that don't even purport to relate to one another or cohere. Dream worlds are stacked one on top of another, teetering like a pile of misshapen rocks. This is the kind of movie where dialogue cliches originating in bad war movies and bad B-movies are used to punctuate explosions, and where the heroine has less and less interesting things to say than Arnie in any of his movies during his heyday. And the cherry on this bizarre confection is a ridiculously turgid voiceover attempting to indict the target hyperactive and addled male audience for objectifying women (and making the movie objectify women). This, after the audience has been subjected to waves of sleaze unconvincingly countered by pseudo female empowerment.

This movie is horrifically cynical, either stupendously lacking in self-awareness or a brazen attempt exercise in self-hatred. In any case, this is a must-see if only for just how messed up and demented a major studio blockbuster can be. It appears to be a highly expensive rendering of the imagination of a toddler on a sugar high, assisted by a horny but bored teenager who has absorbed plenty of contemporary mass media and does not care to process any of it.
November 16, 2016
Its visually a good view but I didn't understand a thing in that movie. After watching this movie I was like wondering why in the world I watched it..
November 15, 2016
This is a movie full of eye candy, like if a boy gets asked the question, what would you like in your movie, and he thinks about it and says... robot ninja assassins, and... zombie nazies, and... giant samurai and i want 5 hot chicks to fight them. It was a spectical and a nice continuation of the 300 movie. Yes you need to get over the plot, not all plots can have a 6th sense twist at the end, but this one is worth seeing just for the visuals alone. I'm not surprised he got to do Superman.
November 9, 2016
great vissual effects... i know a little bored but for me it's a cool movie to see one saturday with your friends
November 6, 2016
Although this film was clearly plucked right out of some absurd male fantasy-come-to-life with steampunk gun wielding, leather and fishnet clad midriff touting badass action chicks - within a fantasy of burlesque inspired stripper prostitutes - within a loose plot of a creepy gothic mental hospital - I don't know, I kind of dug it. Is it silly? Of course. The melodrama of it all was quite amusing. The characters lack depth, but their costumes are on point and the atmosphere is imaginative. Although the story is clunky there are some entertaining performances - the guy who plays Blue Jones just went for it and I think he's the true MVP of this flick. Does this film break any grounds, empower anyone, have a narrative that truly makes you think differently about the world? Certainly not. Does it entertain you for what is it? Sure. It also makes for a hella cool Halloween costume though this movie's been out for quite a while and it's doubtful anyone will know who you are, and maybe that's a testament to this flick.
October 22, 2016
Beautiful visuals (lighting, costumes) reminiscent of Moulin Rouge. Tragic story and excellent music. Skip the video game sequences and you will see an unforgettable story of love, pain, and sacrifice.
October 18, 2016
No stars. This film is too simplistic and blackhearted to be the "feminist saga" it claims it is and too self-important to appeal to dumb guys who just want to drool over it's super-sexualized female antagonists. This film doesn't seem to have been made with any type of audience in mind. Yes, impressive visuals, but they aren't supported by a good story or acting, so there's no point. Warner Bros. claims this film's dismal failure at the box office was due to audiences not wanting to accept a "female action hero." For starters, the "Alien" franchise has done well for many decades,and it features a female hero. And the next year, the first installment of "The Hunger Games" came out and was a world wide smash that launched Jennifer Lawrence's career. The difference between those works and this one? Ellen Ripley and Katniss Everdeen, though living in a sci-fi world, are real characters that EVERYONE (boy or girl) can relate to because they are passionate, determined, and ready to look death square in the eye as they battle the enemy. This film has no motive, no purpose, no point. May it rest in obscurity.
October 17, 2016
I wanted to like this but it misses the mark of a good movie.
½ October 6, 2016
What a rancid piece of garbage this movie is...and then they gave Snyder Batman and Superman?! What is this life?
½ September 29, 2016
I can't give it zero, I guess. Literally the worst movie I've ever seen. And I've seen Manos. I stopped it five times in one sitting.
September 24, 2016
the movie is great not perfect but has its perks one with characters, two animation, outfits. four atmosphere and five unreal and nothing like it. the biggest problem i would say would be the plot was a little messy and was hard to follow and understand truly the meaning of the movie. but its a great movie.
September 11, 2016
It cinema for cinema's sake -- it's glossy and over the top. And IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO BE A DEEP MOVIE. Critics be damned, I loved it -- and the sexy young women are not the main reason, but I won't complain: they kick ass and are impressive while doing so
September 7, 2016
Sucker Punch does nothing but exploit the existence and career of five young women. Putting them in skimpy outfits weren't enough to get past critics, and they weren't even enough to get past the presumed, teenage male audience. Sucker Punch just sucked.
September 5, 2016
Odd film with some visual thrills. The opening sequence is quite impressive, though the rest of the film unfortunately is not.
August 26, 2016
With over a decade's worth of films under the belt of director Zack Snyder, we've had plenty of time and opportunities to find out his strengths and weaknesses as a director. In doing so, one thing is evident: Snyder is a master of visuals, but struggles in most other departments. With all four of his preceding films being based on already established material, Snyder has been aided with a temporary crutch; even then, many of his films feel emotionally distant and lack strong character development.

With his first foray into original material, Sucker Punch, this becomes even more of a glaring problem. All of Snyder's problems as a storyteller are brought to the forefront of this film, which is disappointing considering that there's potential in this world Snyder and co-writer Steve Shibuya have created. It's a female-driven story of empowerment and overcoming objectification of women and even metaphors of overcoming sexual abuse; the problem here is that the story is told through such a confusing manner to the point where the film almost seems to be simultaneously misogynistic and intended to be empowering for females. The emphasis on overcoming oppression in fantastical settings with less focus on the real world creates a lot of problems regarding Snyder's intent of what this story wants to be.

The layers of fantastical escapism don't end there. As Babydoll (Emily Browning) dives into the imaginary brothel she's created to cope with her institution in a mental asylum, she drifts further into many other worlds alongside her fellow dancers (Abbie Cornish, Jena Malone, Vanessa Hudgens, Jamie Chung). These segments are where Snyder is given his chance to shine: with visual heavy moments of action and fight choreography. From the likes of a steam-punk World War I setting to a orc-infested castle or a futuristic train guarded by a mini-army of robots, each setting is beautifully designed and make for mostly fun romps of swift action, captured smoothly by Snyder's go-to DP Larry Fong.

Even these moments aren't without fault though. By just the second or third introduction to these fantasies, there's an overwhelming sense of repetitiveness. A Wise Man (Scott Glenn) delivers an expository explanation of the five girls' goal, they enter the world, fight their way through waves of enemies, and reach the aforementioned goal. Rinse and repeat. It feels like being relegated to watching someone play a remarkably mediocre video game: for a while, you can't help but have plenty of fun and be invested in the fictional world, but at a point, it feels like time to play something a bit more enjoyable.
August 22, 2016
Awesome movie for the ones that like steampunk fantasy.
August 21, 2016
GREAT film to watch with friends (seriously, tried watching The Town with friends, one fell asleep. I'd rather watched it alone). EPIC in the wide screen. Average acting, multi-dimensional plot was fine. VISUALS = 11/10.
½ August 20, 2016
Will def not be watching again.
½ August 10, 2016
A useless excuse for a plot to prop up hot girls fighting.
August 9, 2016
Great movie fun to watch
Page 1 of 643