Suing the Devil - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Suing the Devil Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ April 24, 2016
I had the pleasure of having an actress as a friend while I was living in Australia. She mentioned that she was going to be an extra in a movie, and although we made plans to watch it together, I had to leave the country.

Thank God I never had to see it with her...

Years later she sent me a link to this film on IMDb, and said "oh you should check this movie out. This was the one that I told you about... I played one of the jurors." And since it had been a while I thought; oh why not? It's got Malcolm McDowell, how bad can it be, despite the low rating?

Dear sweet lord it was worse than I thought.

The acting is terrible to put it gently, even McDowell couldn't pull out a single believable moment to hold the viewer's attention. There is an ensemble cast of first timers, poor talent, and just terrible delivery throughout. The plot is even worse. In a misguided attempt to create a modern Christian comedy, they try and dupe you with what you think will be a funny little courtroom comedy. It's not. It's actually a really bad drama, like a film student's first attempt. I don't think anyone chose what theme they were going for when they made this movie. There is so much Christian rhetoric in this trash that I was literally yelling, "oh just shut it!" at the television. If you don't believe me, just listen to the song in the credits.

Better yet, don't watch this movie at all and save yourself a lifetime of regret. Do NOT watch this garbage.

0.5/5

(this is certainly the lowest rating I have ever given. If there was something lower than .5, this movie would get it)
October 21, 2015
thank you for making this crap film,i haven't laughed so much reading the reviews in a long time.
September 1, 2015
Phenomenal film. Ignore the critics. Just watch it!
March 24, 2015
Silly premise that made me laugh, and provoked my interest in this movie, but this got so bad that I couldn't even finish it. Bad acting, bad dialogue, bad pacing, and very few believable characters are the reason.
November 10, 2013
Malcolm McDowell should have won an Oscar for this movie
October 21, 2013
Great film - 10 out of 10
October 7, 2013
Phenomenal film - forget the haters - Jesus said if they hate me, they will hate you
August 10, 2013
Terrible plot line, awful script and completely inconsistent. Not worth watching. It's sad to say that this movie gives Christians an awful name because of it's legalism and crappy reasoning. completely unrealistic and some scenes seemed to me like a bad soap opera. did small children direct it???
½ June 20, 2013
"The worst film I've ever watched" might be an understatement. Suing the Devil is truly dreadful in both narrative and technical terms. Those responsible for the editing and sound mixing departments should be "crucified". Poor Malcolm McDowell.
June 5, 2013
Hilarious for all the wrong reasons!!
January 1, 2013
Save your money and time. Warning! This movie is Evangelical Christian propaganda.
The script is trash, and the dialogue is even worse.
We turned it off.
Malcolm McDowell and Luke O'Brien should be be crucified for this stinker!
½ November 28, 2012
I realize there is LIMITED material for evangelicals...but this movie is steaming offal...to be avoided at ALL costs.

Save your money.
Look for a "primitive" christian church and attend their service...you will encounter LESS proselytizing...this one should carry a warning that it will in fact try to "educate" you...and if you don't happen to be Christian, you won't make it through the first five minutes.
½ November 3, 2012
What a fartfest, I read everybody dissing this movie and I should've known, but I just wanted to see it for myself. Such a neat concept, such a bad movie. The acting is a mess, the type you see in porn movies, utter crap. As is the directing and soundtrack. In all honesty I don't understand how this movie even came into being, must be a miracle or something.
October 17, 2012
Another reviewer said "What an amazing concept...trapped in a truly awfully directed, produced, and acted movie"

I couldn't agree more. They could have and SHOULD have done a much better job with every aspect (including more effectual use of the great actor they had in McDowell). I wasn't sure if this was a drama, comedy, christian film or spoof. The lead was oblivious and unbelievable - to the point that every time he mentioned Jesus' name I wasn't sure if he was sincere or blasphemous.

In the end, I really like the concept and, of course, the message, but it was so poorly communicated that without a post-film explanation, I'm afraid it was lost on the vast majority of the audience.
½ October 16, 2012
What an amazing concept...trapped in a truly awfully directed, produced, and acted movie. Malcolm McDowell was, ironically, a saving grace to some extent, but his character acting wasn't nearly enough to save this piece of junk. As another reviewer said: don't waste your dollar at Redbox. I'd like mine back!
October 6, 2012
This was, without a doubt, one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. The trial scenes were completely random, and the acting (except for McDowell) was sub par. Don't waste your dollar at Red Box
September 23, 2012
Malcolm McDowell was legendary in Kubrick's "A Clockwork Orange" (1971) as a deranged rapist. What the hell happened (Pun intended!) that he has plummeted this low? I think it is safe to assume this film lost it's movie salvation and is now in movie Gehenna.
September 22, 2012
Entertaining, light and yet addresses the questions philosophy and religion have dealt with for centuries. That it is from a Christian perspective was not problematic. Malcolm MacDowell is superb as Satan. His legal team is hilarious.
September 15, 2012
the most incredible film i have ever seen. forest gump can suck a dick. praise ye the lord almighty god
½ September 2, 2012
awful.... mcdowell was fun to watch. dreck otherwise.
Page 1 of 5