The Sum of All Fears - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sum of All Fears Reviews

Page 1 of 9
January 1, 2011
Generic action film not good for kids, or anyone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 13, 2002
...post-September 11, "The Sum Of All Fears" seems more tacky and reprehensible, manipulating our collective fear without bestowing the subject with the intelligence or sincerity it unequivocally deserves.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 11, 2002
I've felt more drama watching tornado chasers on The Weather Channel.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
September 30, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 31, 2002
Suffers because it seems so pale and ineffectual compared to the real thing.
Read More | Original Score: C+
June 3, 2002
The Sum of All Fears is almost impossible to follow -- and there's something cringe-inducing about seeing an American football stadium nuked as pop entertainment.
May 31, 2002
Thirty years ago, it would have been groundbreaking. Now it's just tired.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 10, 2002
A little more intensity and a little less charm would have saved this film a world of hurt.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 22, 2014
[Ben Affleck's] Jack Ryan is simply impossible to take seriously, and that's something the film could probably never survive.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
June 3, 2002
If we're going to be swept away by a thriller of this kind, we need a hero that we can depend on -- one who makes us feel safe... [Affleck's] Jack Ryan doesn't have enough potency to do that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 19, 2002
The unequivocal death of the Jack Ryan franchise.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/5
June 10, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
May 28, 2002
It's just not the thinking person's spy thriller it pretends to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 30, 2002
Sum's world is a moron-friendly version of Thirteen Days posing as current events, one where the Middle East is barely given a passing glance.
Full Review | Original Score: D
May 31, 2002
Ben Affleck as Jack Ryan, Tom Clancy's intrepid hero? Ridiculous. What's next? D.J. Qualls as Indiana Jones? Or Tom Green as Han Solo?
June 2, 2002
It's the kind of empty Hollywood film that has been made since the onset of films.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 30, 2002
In terms of escapist fun, this one ranks right up there with a newsreel tour of ground zero in Hiroshima and Nagasaki.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 30, 2002
It's a striking measure of the nervousness of the country right now that a movie so full of holes should be as gripping as it is, at least for its first two-thirds, after which it collapses into a swamp of sentimental mush.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 30, 2002
I am still scratching my head at the callowness of the film's hero and at the haziness of the terrorist objective.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 9