The Sum of All Fears - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sum of All Fears Reviews

August 9, 2002
Read More | Original Score: B
July 20, 2002
An implausible apocalypse without depth or resonance, a cartoon of international politics presented with no James Bond-like playfulness and with all the superficial realism money can buy.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 13, 2002
I'm not saying Affleck is in way over his head, but a scuba tank and swim fins might come in handy.
June 10, 2002
Affleck merely creates an outline for a role he still needs to grow into, a role that Ford effortlessly filled with authority.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
June 4, 2002
A trite espionage thriller without the thrills but with a lingering measure of nausea.
June 3, 2002
The Sum of All Fears is almost impossible to follow -- and there's something cringe-inducing about seeing an American football stadium nuked as pop entertainment.
June 2, 2002
Phil Alden Robinson, who directed from a script by Paul Attanasio and Daniel Pyne, is an accomplished craftsman, but his movie has been upstaged by the sum of our fears.
June 1, 2002
It's a smartly directed, grown-up film of ideas.
May 31, 2002
Has something to disappoint nearly every constituency to which it appeals.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 31, 2002
One that bombs literally and figuratively.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
May 31, 2002
Subtract the slickness, and Sum adds up to a smart thriller.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 31, 2002
It's a movie that, frankly, I could not recommend to a friend, and yet I find no fault in the filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 31, 2002
The Sum of All Fears pretends to be a serious exploration of nuclear terrorism, but it's really nothing more than warmed-over Cold War paranoia.
May 31, 2002
Watching this film, we can't shake our fears that we may be witnessing a version of our own previously unthinkable future.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 31, 2002
This engrossing, characteristically complex Tom Clancy thriller is shifty in the manner in which it addresses current terrorism anxieties and sidesteps them at the same time.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 31, 2002
It's a testament to how effective The Sum of All Fears really is that it sends you home feeling more scared than you were before.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 31, 2002
Toward the end Sum of All Fears morphs into a mundane '70s disaster flick.
Read More | Original Score: C+
May 31, 2002
Bold, imaginative, rational and persuasive an account of the lethally dangerous world we live in, The Sum of All Fears is an international spy drama with visceral impact.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 31, 2002
The explosion essentially ruined -- or, rather, overpowered -- the fiction of the movie for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 31, 2002
All that moviemaking money, plus all those gadgets, plus Ben Affleck: It doesn't add up to very much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 31, 2002
A mediocre terrorist melodrama turned even punier by real-life events.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 31, 2002
Plays like a cheesy '80s TV movie.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
May 31, 2002
Director Phil Alden Robinson and his writers, Paul Attanasio and Daniel Pyne, do a spellbinding job of cranking up the tension.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 31, 2002
There's nothing ambiguous here -- no twisty plot lines, no out-of-left-field jolts. Just lots of angry boys with big angry toys designed to wipe out the whole ever-lovin' lot of us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 30, 2002
The most exciting [two hours] I've spent on any would-be summer blockbuster in a long, long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 30, 2002
I am still scratching my head at the callowness of the film's hero and at the haziness of the terrorist objective.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 30, 2002
It's a striking measure of the nervousness of the country right now that a movie so full of holes should be as gripping as it is, at least for its first two-thirds, after which it collapses into a swamp of sentimental mush.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 30, 2002
Absorbing and disturbing -- perhaps more disturbing than originally intended -- but a little clarity would have gone a long way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 30, 2002
A slick, well-oiled machine, exquisitely polished and upholstered.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 30, 2002
The nonstop action takes you all over the planet, and you'll find yourself totally caught up in this exhilarating adventure.
May 30, 2002
In terms of escapist fun, this one ranks right up there with a newsreel tour of ground zero in Hiroshima and Nagasaki.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 30, 2002
An exciting action blockbuster.
May 30, 2002
I was impressed by how many tit-for-tat retaliatory responses the filmmakers allow before pulling the plug on the conspirators and averting an American-Russian Armageddon.
May 30, 2002
The Sum of All Fears may not be super-smart, but it's rock-solid.
Read More | Original Score: B
May 30, 2002
Ben Affleck is more than a stand-in for Harrison Ford.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 29, 2002
The movie does what all good thrillers should do -- provide enough shocks and surprises to keep us guessing, and never lets up on the suspense until the end credits arrive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2002
Vigorously directed by Phil Alden Robinson and tautly scripted by Paul Attanasio and Daniel Pyne.