Summer Lovers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Summer Lovers Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ June 18, 2016
An 80's romp trying to masquerade as something more serious. It's an 80's style, stereotypically male take on a menage a troi. Very pretty to look at.
November 3, 2015
A gorgeous romance with attractive, mature, funny dialogue, an incredible setting, characters whom you really like. A powerful, memorable, wonderful movie. One of my favorites.
½ August 18, 2014
A great primes... but kinda dated now. This movie needs to be remade. In 1982 they had to be conservative, but now they could be much more open with a threesome's sexuality.
½ April 8, 2014
Risqué yet innocent.
½ February 1, 2013
beautiful scenery but that clearly doesnt cover up for a good story line or a good set of dialogue delivery opportunities..
October 7, 2012
This is the second movie of my life! It's all about beauty: the actors, the place, the music... just makes me grab my stuff and go visit Santorini!
½ June 9, 2012
I'm half paying attention but I think it's so wrong that Peter Gallagher was sucha HOTTIE at 27!!! How is that possible ugh geez that's wrong. I guess it's ok if people are into soft core lol
May 22, 2012
Good romance involving 3 people! Great location shots in Greece!
½ April 27, 2012
Summer Lovers (Randal Kleiser, 1982)

Back in the dark ages, when we had just moved (I can't remember where we had moved from or moved to; we did a lot of that sort of thing in the early eighties), my parents got this amazing new technology called cable television, and as a side perk they got a pay service called Home Box Office, which at the time was still a relatively young upstart. To say my preteen world was instantly changed would be an understatement. Those first few months with HBO changed the way I looked at the world of film (and the way I consumed film; I lost count within a week or two of the number of times I watched Hangar 18 and The Return). I, a suburban pre-teen who was absurdly grateful to have been able to catch such seemingly-obscure movies as Phantasm and Deathsport at the local multiplex just a few years before, was suddenly introduced to a whole world of foreign films, obscure classics, B movies... and sex films. Not in the sense of porn, or in the sense of softcore (a subgenre which I am convinced sprung up solely to serve the pay movie channel market), but movies that had sex as a main theme. Talk about horizon-broadening for someone who grew up in a sexually repressed household. When the parents were asleep, I'd sneak down to the living room and catch late-night screenings of movies like Personal Best and Making Love. Eventually, of course, the parents caught on and stopped me from doing such things, but I could still read the movie descriptions in the guide and fantasize. Summer Lovers hit HBO right around that time, and when you're thirteen years old and popping with hormonal activity, reading a movie description about a Greek vacation that involves a guy and two lovely ladies getting up to all kinds of wicked fun was fodder for years of fantasies. When I finally got a chance to watch the movie, thirty years had passed. To say my fantasies had done it better was an understatement on a level of magnitude I'm not sure I can put into words.

Plot: Michael Pappas (sex, lies, and videotape's Peter Gallagher in his second feature) and his naïve-but-horny girlfriend Cathy Featherstone (Daryl Hannah, who also appeared in Bladerunner the same year) head to Greece, Michael's homeland, for a summer vacation filled with nude beaches, liquor, and badly-played acoustic guitar. All is going well until Michael becomes obsessed with Lina (Bolero's Valérie Quennessen in her final feature), a French archaeologist on the island for the summer to assist in a local dig. Needless to say in the pre-AIDS world of casual encounters, Michael and Lina wind up in bed, there is some hair-tearing by both Michael and Cathy when he confesses, and she decides to play the open relationship game as well. But none of the island guys, all of whom come off as brash (though beautifully tanned, natch), do it for her. And she winds up confronting Lina...

The first, and biggest, complaint I have: all of this is set to one of the worst soundtracks I have come across in recent memory, all awful treacly American pop I can't imagine the native folk on a small island in a country famous for its music would allow anywhere near its borders (we're talking about the worst excesses of Chicago, the Pointer Sisters, etc.). I have read a review or two that calls the soundtrack "intrusive". I commend the reviewers on their restraint. When you get to the final scene and see what Kleiser does with the music there, you will find yourself with the conflicting urges to vomit and laugh hysterically. Don't do both simultaneously, that could be fatal.

Second: for a movie that put itself out there as transgressive, not that anyone had heard that term in 1982 but it fits, it's almost unbearably restrained. Most notably, while it is implied during the first couple of meetings between Cathy and Lina that the two of them have jumped into bed at least once, every time there is some sort of contact that would seem to naturally involve all three of them, Kleiser (who also wrote the script) shies away, instead having two of our participants kick things off while the third watches (with Michael always being one of the two)-and while I could understand and forgive this based on the mores of Hollywood at the time were Kleiser to even feint in the direction of "we gave you a polyamorous relationship, we'll at least give you leads towards imagining these folks in a threesome", nope, we never get it. None of the relationship movies any of our three principals makes in the movie makes a damn bit of sense, not only as realistic life choices, but more confusingly, even as the fevered imaginations of a teenaged boy (or a middle-aged scriptwriter)!

All that said, there are a few scenes here that, while not making the movie worth watching, are arresting in some way, either visually (Michael's first visit to a nude beach with Lena, where he not-so-idly pours a trail of sand and gravel from her navel to her breasts in delicious close-up) or conceptually (Cathy's mother and her best friend pay a surprise visit to the island and try to process everything they witness with highly amusing results). If you stumble onto the movie and decide to watch it, these are what you will take away with you... which is a far cry from what you probably think you will take away with you. * 1/2
½ April 16, 2012
The only interesting in this movie was Valà (C)rie Quennessen's eyes.
February 27, 2012
A guilty pleasure! What's not to like, beautiful location, beautiful people, plausible scenario, and wonderfully fun soundtrack. Has one of the best life lesson lines in it, (roughly) "Jealousy doesn't show how much you love someone, it shows how insecure you are."
January 24, 2012
A beautiful postcard from Greece.
½ September 5, 2011
This a juicy one...beautiful flick :))
½ July 25, 2011
peter gallagher at his yummiest
July 5, 2011
Sexy Sexy Summer Long Menage a Trois with Beautiful views of the Greek Isles.You can surely see what John John Kennedy saw in Daryl Hannah, & it wasn't her acting.
June 5, 2011
Set upon a romantic Greek island, this drama chronicles the experiences of a pair of young American adults who go there for summer vacation. Their idyll is interrupted by a sexy archaeologist who has come there to work on a dig.

an odd romantic movie, you will see them naked and making love all the time, have seen it long time ago. didn't liked it much.
April 7, 2011
Based on my Curacaon exploits on the beach
Super Reviewer
January 11, 2011
A strange romance movie, I saw it a very long time ago and I didn't care for it, but maybe I should see it again?
December 4, 2010
Depending on your sensibilities, this is either a sweet, almost lyrical statement about progressive, forward-thinking young people with no sexual hang-ups, or a smutty, soft-core sex-romp with ample female skin on display. Being the open-minded yet salacious pervert I am, I say, why not a little of both? Lucky Peter Gallagher travels with his girlfriend (A lean and lovely Darryl Hannah at her lankiest-) to Greece and meets a beautiful cat-eyed Archaeology student (The stunning Valerie Quennessen, who unfortunately made only a handful of movies due to her untimely death-) and all three embark on a free-wheeling, uninhibited menage-a-trois which eventually becomes a three-way affair of the heart. Very scandalous taboo subject-matter for the time, but well-acted among the three principles, with gorgeous cinematography, and a refreshingly-open and honest European-style approach to sex and all its trappings.
October 27, 2010
Sorry, I wouldn't share Peter Gallagher with anyone. Pass!
Page 1 of 4