Super High Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Super High Me Reviews

Page 1 of 45
½ October 18, 2016
This may be amusing if.. a) u have no idea about weed or b) ur extremely high.. it was soo boring. For a documentary did little documenting. .
September 28, 2016
As a fan of the Doug Loves Movies podcast I thought this would be something fun to watch just to pass the time. When Super Size Me was in theaters Doug used to joke in his stand-up routine that he was going to do the same thing but with marijuana. What started as a joke became this movie. The mission was 30 days without weed and then 30 days of non-stop weed. It's funny, because the "story" of this documentary is that there is no real story. Doug seems to face very little withdrawal in the abstaining 30 days, and he has very little physical/mental damage in the high 30 days. The clips of his stand-up act appear to go through very little change throughout the length of the film. In fact the effects of this experiment on Doug are so insignificant that they decide to supplement Super High Me with a general history lesson about cannabis and the medical laws that have made it legal in many states of our nation. They interview the owners of dispensaries, some of the people behind the legislation, and many of Doug's stand-up friends. There are also scenes where the film twists into a news-focus as they cover the raids by DEA agents, because federal law is at odds with the state law. Personally, I found Doug to be the most interesting and entertaining part of the film, but because the weed has very little effect on him I can see why they padded it with other talking points. Perhaps the most effective statement that Super High Me makes is pointing out the double-standard that the damaging McDonald's food we see in Super Size Me can be legal and the largely "safe" marijuana seen in Super High Me is still heavily controlled or illegal.
August 29, 2016
Not as good as Super Size Me but it was good. I went to Family Video and they had it for 2 movies for a dollar. Would tell most people to watch it. Had some shocking facts that I did not know about, and helped me learn a false stereotype that all people who smoke weed go to the doctor and say they have a pain in there back and get it.
September 5, 2015
haha.......muchies....
½ July 26, 2015
One of the most terrible, uneducated movie around.
½ May 4, 2015
Very interesting. Terrible editing.
February 12, 2015
Entertaining And Surprisingly Thought-Provoking!
January 24, 2015
Just as valid a documentary as the movie it plays on, plus funny.
July 23, 2014
6/10
Not as entertaining as thought
½ June 6, 2014
what a piece of shit
May 3, 2014
Such a good documentry! I enjoyed every moment of it!
April 21, 2014
Surprisingly good as an actual documentary. Doug Benson is interesting in the first half and hilarious in the second.
½ March 17, 2014
The key element to this biased documentaries failure is that it doesnt really prove anything, it doesnt really educate and its very a tonal for the entire thing. Their is no arc, no pearl, no umph! Its just a really boring, shallow documentary made by stoners, for stoners! The premise is simple enough, Doug Benson, an american comedian, best known for always being high, decides to detox off weed for 30 days, sit a series of tests and then smoke weed all day every day for 30 days and sit similar tests. What does it show? not much. It's intercut with him doing live stand up which is ok, but as a comedian i dont really find his type of comedy hilarious. The documentaries saving grace is the angle it takes on the DEA braking state law in california and raiding all medicial marijuana pharmacies, much to the obvious disgruntlement of the people. I fear that maybe would have made a better documentary. There is very little to no opposing opinion, so all were being told is stuff by people who smoke weed everyday, the occasional psychiatrist may pass a comment about it but other than that, no opposing factors to what were being told here are present. It also does a very good job of glorifiying weed use and demonising the DEA, now obviously different cultures will have their own stand on that, however i felt it seemed almost childish. Im niether her nor there when it comes to peoples addictions, everyone has them on some level and everyone has taken or self medicates at one point in their life. But this affair seems too preachy and not forgiving enough of people who arent big into that culture. The outcome is anti climactic also. Doug makes it out as if his 30 day bender is going to kill him, but because he was a stoner previously to his dry period all this experiment shows is that once he is finished his experiment he had a good time and wanted to keep smoking. Whoopie doo! It's watchable but doesnt even come close to warranting a serious look at the over use of drugs.
½ February 4, 2014
This could have been very influential in the war against drugs. But it seems it does what most pot heads do, just rub in our face that they smoke pot and that no one gives a amn that they do.
½ January 9, 2014
Hilarious spin on Super Size Me
January 2, 2014
Kind of interesting.
½ December 6, 2013
Idiotic movie about a guy who pretends to be a pothead in a sad attempt to be funny.
½ October 23, 2013
Well this rather unfunny comic gets to hang out some cool people (Sarah Silverman, Ian Roberts, Brian Posehn, Zach Galifianakis, etc.). Supposed to an obvious play on Super Size Me, but doesnt come out as more than a stoner's video diary.
½ October 8, 2013
Benson isn't that funny, and as a whole this film failed to be consistently interesting.
½ September 8, 2013
The movie is just a person smoking a lot of weed and not being funny at all, it's entertaining to watch but there are no memorable parts and there's a lot of sensationalism, i'm okay with people smoking weed but i really like people who smoke weed and make good movies.
TL;DR Don't watch it unless you're stoned
Page 1 of 45