Man of Steel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Man of Steel Reviews

Page 4 of 16
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
June 22, 2013
The film is an adrenalin rush - a welcome jab in the arm and a large-scale escapist fantasy that propels us up, up and away
Chris Laverty
Clothes on Film
June 21, 2013
Chaotic and unfocused.
Margot Harrison
Seven Days
June 21, 2013
Snyder's style is all about the iconography of rippling muscles and fights to the death; it's the down-to-earth elements of the Superman mythos that get short shrift here.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
June 21, 2013
Cavill makes a super Superman but the film drags a little and could use some humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
June 20, 2013
Was it in Shannon's contract to have the same amount of screen time as the title character? Trouble is, he's as overdone as the product placements that are immune to the destruction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
June 20, 2013
I like this latest version of Superman. I was expecting a darker, more depressing movie with the sado-masochistic overtones, of say, the recent Batman movies. Thankfully, this superhero movie is more upbeat than I expected.
Full Review | Original Score: B
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
June 19, 2013
While expertly rendered by the film's army of special effects artists, the violence feels simultaneously bloated and empty, yet another exercise in wide-scale cinematic decimation without any sense of humanity or the weight of its loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
June 19, 2013
I'm convinced there's probably a pretty darn good 105-minute movie wrapped inside this unwieldy 143-minute one -- not that we'll ever see it
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
June 19, 2013
An occasionally exciting, intelligent and visually impressive sci-fi adventure with a fine cast. It is also frequently excessive and over-produced, but then what else should one expect from a summer blockbuster?
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
June 19, 2013
Snyder gives fans and general audiences a chance to revel in everything Superman is capable of, as writer Goyer cultivates the man and the hero...
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
June 18, 2013
The good and grand things outnumber the bad, but the film works as hard as it can to keep that from being the case.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
June 18, 2013
"Man of Steel" shows evidence that [the filmmakers] were on the right track, but then they allowed the film to de-evolve into a chaotic mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Rob Humanick
The Berks-Mont News
June 18, 2013
Eschews camp and lends Superman a genuinely fantastic, spiritual heft, one that grounds the ruthless destruction to come and elevates it above mere popcorn spectacle.
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
June 18, 2013
I know I feel cheated. I wonder what the real fans will think.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Siobhan Synnot
Scotsman
June 17, 2013
Red underpants and kryptonite are conspicuously absent, but this dour picture still feels overfamiliar and rote.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2013
It's good to have Superman back.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Philip French
Observer (UK)
June 17, 2013
The film is a load of repetitive tosh, featuring in every sequence of its 143 minutes more special effects than God used when he created the world, ending with a list of credits longer than many a telephone directory.
Staci Layne Wilson
Yahoo! Movies
June 17, 2013
As a science fiction action extravaganza, I can't fault the latest from director Zack Snyder. But as a fun Superman comic book popcorn flick, I certainly can.
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
June 17, 2013
An oppressive movie filled with a blaring seriousness, inconsistent production design, mundane conflict, heavy exposition and a huge amount of super-destructive action that leads to nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Matt Looker
TheShiznit.co.uk
June 17, 2013
You'll believe a man can frown. A lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 4 of 16