Surfer, Dude - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Surfer, Dude Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
March 5, 2009
The problem that Surfer, Dude faces is that in its attempt to be a stoner comedy, it forgot to add the comedy elements.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
December 28, 2008
A celebration of unrealistic lifestyles, which makes it exactly the wrong film for our times. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
The film looks more like a collection of home movies as opposed to a professional piece of cinema.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
It felt like we were watching a rough cut.
Edward Havens
FilmJerk.com
September 17, 2008
The number of artistically successful surfing movies can be counted on one hand, and the majority of those are documentaries.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
September 15, 2008
I wish the finished product was as amusing as the behind-the-scenes pot-fueled merriment I imagine took place during production.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
Variety
September 15, 2008
[A] hapless, laughless movie.
Tim Cogshell
Boxoffice Magazine
September 15, 2008
The movie is about a surfer dude (sans comma), who is an analog dude trying to fit into a digital world, which is like trying to get a square peg into a Calabi-Yau Manifold, which is to say it probably won't work, and neither does this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Neely Tucker
Washington Post
September 12, 2008
You can stick around for the only funny line, which involves a breakfast burrito, but the smart surfer would head for the hills and Willie's goat ranch.
Glenn Whipp
Los Angeles Daily News
September 12, 2008
Yes, this is a movie made by stoners for stoners.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Louis B. Parks
Houston Chronicle
September 12, 2008
Surfer, Dude is a bizarre throwback. It feels 25-30 years out of date and seems to be meant to be watched on VHS, oops, make that DVD, while stoned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Mario Tarradell
Dallas Morning News
September 12, 2008
Willie and ganja, yes, yes, the cliches abound.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Scott Von Doviak
Fort Worth Star-Telegram/DFW.com
September 11, 2008
There's something about the mystical-spiritual aura surrounding surfing that tends to turn most movies on the subject to hippie-dippie mush.
Top Critic

L.A. Weekly
September 11, 2008
A shapeless slog with virtually no tale to chase.
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
September 10, 2008
A total wipeout.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Top Critic
Stephen Farber
Hollywood Reporter
September 9, 2008
[A] lackluster vanity production.
Kimberley Jones
Austin Chronicle
September 5, 2008
I couldn't think of a less appealing advert for the way of the surf.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 5, 2008
...limp and rambling picture, which crawls across the screen for about 30 minutes longer than it has any need to.
Page 1 of 1