Surfer, Dude - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Surfer, Dude Reviews

Page 1 of 1
November 5, 2008
It felt like we were watching a rough cut.
November 5, 2008
The film looks more like a collection of home movies as opposed to a professional piece of cinema.
September 15, 2008
I wish the finished product was as amusing as the behind-the-scenes pot-fueled merriment I imagine took place during production.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
March 5, 2009
The problem that Surfer, Dude faces is that in its attempt to be a stoner comedy, it forgot to add the comedy elements.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
December 28, 2008
A celebration of unrealistic lifestyles, which makes it exactly the wrong film for our times. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 12, 2008
You can stick around for the only funny line, which involves a breakfast burrito, but the smart surfer would head for the hills and Willie's goat ranch.
September 5, 2008
...limp and rambling picture, which crawls across the screen for about 30 minutes longer than it has any need to.
September 17, 2008
The number of artistically successful surfing movies can be counted on one hand, and the majority of those are documentaries.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 5, 2008
I couldn't think of a less appealing advert for the way of the surf.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 12, 2008
Willie and ganja, yes, yes, the cliches abound.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 11, 2008
There's something about the mystical-spiritual aura surrounding surfing that tends to turn most movies on the subject to hippie-dippie mush.
September 9, 2008
[A] lackluster vanity production.
September 10, 2008
A total wipeout.
Full Review | Original Score: F
September 12, 2008
Surfer, Dude is a bizarre throwback. It feels 25-30 years out of date and seems to be meant to be watched on VHS, oops, make that DVD, while stoned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 12, 2008
Yes, this is a movie made by stoners for stoners.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2008
The movie is about a surfer dude (sans comma), who is an analog dude trying to fit into a digital world, which is like trying to get a square peg into a Calabi-Yau Manifold, which is to say it probably won't work, and neither does this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 15, 2008
[A] hapless, laughless movie.
Top Critic
September 11, 2008
A shapeless slog with virtually no tale to chase.
Page 1 of 1