Surfer, Dude - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Surfer, Dude Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
It felt like we were watching a rough cut.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 5, 2008
The film looks more like a collection of home movies as opposed to a professional piece of cinema.
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
September 15, 2008
I wish the finished product was as amusing as the behind-the-scenes pot-fueled merriment I imagine took place during production.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
March 5, 2009
The problem that Surfer, Dude faces is that in its attempt to be a stoner comedy, it forgot to add the comedy elements.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
December 28, 2008
A celebration of unrealistic lifestyles, which makes it exactly the wrong film for our times. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Neely Tucker
Washington Post
September 12, 2008
You can stick around for the only funny line, which involves a breakfast burrito, but the smart surfer would head for the hills and Willie's goat ranch.
September 5, 2008
...limp and rambling picture, which crawls across the screen for about 30 minutes longer than it has any need to.
Edward Havens
FilmJerk.com
September 17, 2008
The number of artistically successful surfing movies can be counted on one hand, and the majority of those are documentaries.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Kimberley Jones
Austin Chronicle
September 5, 2008
I couldn't think of a less appealing advert for the way of the surf.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Mario Tarradell
Dallas Morning News
September 12, 2008
Willie and ganja, yes, yes, the cliches abound.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Scott Von Doviak
Fort Worth Star-Telegram/DFW.com
September 11, 2008
There's something about the mystical-spiritual aura surrounding surfing that tends to turn most movies on the subject to hippie-dippie mush.
Top Critic
Stephen Farber
Hollywood Reporter
September 9, 2008
[A] lackluster vanity production.
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
September 10, 2008
A total wipeout.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Top Critic
Louis B. Parks
Houston Chronicle
September 12, 2008
Surfer, Dude is a bizarre throwback. It feels 25-30 years out of date and seems to be meant to be watched on VHS, oops, make that DVD, while stoned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Glenn Whipp
Los Angeles Daily News
September 12, 2008
Yes, this is a movie made by stoners for stoners.
| Original Score: 2/4
Tim Cogshell
Boxoffice Magazine
September 15, 2008
The movie is about a surfer dude (sans comma), who is an analog dude trying to fit into a digital world, which is like trying to get a square peg into a Calabi-Yau Manifold, which is to say it probably won't work, and neither does this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
Variety
September 15, 2008
[A] hapless, laughless movie.
Top Critic

L.A. Weekly
September 11, 2008
A shapeless slog with virtually no tale to chase.
Page 1 of 1