Sweet Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sweet Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
May 26, 2012
[VIDEO ESSAY] To this day, "Sweet Movie" remains a powerfully defiant film deeply rooted in anti-authoritarian motives.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
April 2, 2010
Irrational and ineffably moving
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
June 23, 2009
An onslaught of images that are calculated to arouse the viewer to awaken from his slumber.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Variety Staff
Variety
November 6, 2007
Neither hard nor softcore. Yugoslav filmmaker Dusan Makavejev's first pic in the West, is provocative but also arbitrary.
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
July 21, 2007
This is not a film about which you can have mixed feelings. You either love it or loathe it; you are either on its wavelength or you feel assaulted by it. I stand in the latter category.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
John Thomason
Orlando Weekly
July 5, 2007
I'm not convinced of this sometimes dull and inarguably self-indulgent piece of politicarotica's masterpiecitude.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
June 28, 2007
Only manages to turn the stomach.
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
June 1, 2007
This once-banned film is a trippy ride.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Potentially one of the most scandalous films ever made -- except that it has been little seen outside France and has not aged well.
Top Critic
Vincent Canby
New York Times
May 9, 2005
The over-all work remains a courageous example of a personal kind of film making that, to me, leads nowhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 23, 2004
I didn't hate it, although it affected me in bewildering and sometimes unpleasant ways. I didn't find it a success, but I found it an audacious attempt, and it's filled with images impossible to forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Rumsey Taylor
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
November 20, 2003
Sweet Movie certainly has varied political aims, but the message is hindered by graphic practices and sex.

Film4
May 24, 2003
By turns hilarious and shocking, thanks to the director's penchant for startling imagery and bodily fluids, the passage of time may have deadened their effect but they still have the power to ruffle censorial feathers.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
San Francisco Examiner
March 19, 2003
A very bizarre arthouse oddity.
| Original Score: 3/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
October 17, 2002
Some call it art. I call it spinach
| Original Score: 0/5
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
February 13, 2001
Nobody will ever accuse this one of being formulaic.
| Original Score: 70/100
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
February 13, 2001
inevitably degenerates into something Charles Manson might have produced
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
January 1, 2000
Though much of the content is scandalous, the title is ultimately an accurate one -- the sensibility behind the images is innocent, enthusiastic, and childlike.
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
July 3, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 1