Sweet Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sweet Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 26, 2012
[VIDEO ESSAY] To this day, "Sweet Movie" remains a powerfully defiant film deeply rooted in anti-authoritarian motives.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 2, 2010
Irrational and ineffably moving
June 23, 2009
An onslaught of images that are calculated to arouse the viewer to awaken from his slumber.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 6, 2007
Neither hard nor softcore. Yugoslav filmmaker Dusan Makavejev's first pic in the West, is provocative but also arbitrary.
July 21, 2007
This is not a film about which you can have mixed feelings. You either love it or loathe it; you are either on its wavelength or you feel assaulted by it. I stand in the latter category.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
July 5, 2007
I'm not convinced of this sometimes dull and inarguably self-indulgent piece of politicarotica's masterpiecitude.
June 28, 2007
Only manages to turn the stomach.
June 1, 2007
This once-banned film is a trippy ride.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Potentially one of the most scandalous films ever made -- except that it has been little seen outside France and has not aged well.
May 9, 2005
The over-all work remains a courageous example of a personal kind of film making that, to me, leads nowhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 23, 2004
I didn't hate it, although it affected me in bewildering and sometimes unpleasant ways. I didn't find it a success, but I found it an audacious attempt, and it's filled with images impossible to forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 20, 2003
Sweet Movie certainly has varied political aims, but the message is hindered by graphic practices and sex.
May 24, 2003
By turns hilarious and shocking, thanks to the director's penchant for startling imagery and bodily fluids, the passage of time may have deadened their effect but they still have the power to ruffle censorial feathers.
March 19, 2003
A very bizarre arthouse oddity.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 17, 2002
Some call it art. I call it spinach
| Original Score: 0/5
February 13, 2001
Nobody will ever accuse this one of being formulaic.
Read More | Original Score: 70/100
February 13, 2001
inevitably degenerates into something Charles Manson might have produced
| Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Though much of the content is scandalous, the title is ultimately an accurate one -- the sensibility behind the images is innocent, enthusiastic, and childlike.
July 3, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 1